Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2019, 12:40 PM
HenrikUdd HenrikUdd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 16
Default Anyway to get access to the native pro tools when being HDX ultimate user. Need HELP

Hey guys!

Ran into some problems today.
I’m gonna continue/finish a mix that was initially done on a non hd system with pro tools 2019.6.
Mixing guy wasn’t aware of the lack of side chain delay compensation and has used some stuff like that and pretty advanced routing but the mix sounds good on his system.
When opening the same session on my setup (HDX ultimate 2019.6) it’s sounds pretty horrible and thin. Room mics getting cancelled out and missing the oumphf from below. It’s like my system delays everything right and unforunately completely changes the mix.
Is there any way to get access to the native version so I can finish the mix the way it should sound? I’m on Mac latest before warning of updating. (Plugins are the same, tried online/offline record it etc etc.
Thanks for any help!

Last edited by HenrikUdd; 09-18-2019 at 05:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2019, 01:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: Anyway to get access to the native pro tools when being HDX ultimate user. Need

AFAIK you need to lose the HDX card. Have you tried just using Built in Output as the playback engine? Hopefully you have monitors already setup or that can be switched to handle that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2019, 01:33 PM
HenrikUdd HenrikUdd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 16
Default Re: Anyway to get access to the native pro tools when being HDX ultimate user. Need

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
AFAIK you need to lose the HDX card. Have you tried just using Built in Output as the playback engine? Hopefully you have monitors already setup or that can be switched to handle that.
Hey man!
I tried that earlier today and the first test bounce I did after switching to built in output nulled out (except some extremely low noise that got audible when clippgaining the nulled file +36dB, probably from softtube tape or something he’d used on the kick and toms) but after that first bounce I wasn’t able to reproduce it. Didn’t change a single thing in the session. Every other bounce I tried plays like 1.4db rms lower and is very noticeable different.
Loosing my mind a bit over this
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2019, 02:28 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: Anyway to get access to the native pro tools when being HDX ultimate user. Need

Is it known exactly how many samples you need to compensate for on any given bus? If so, you could insert Time Adjuster on masters of each relevant bus.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2019, 03:57 PM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default Re: Anyway to get access to the native pro tools when being HDX ultimate user. Need

Sidechain delay compensation can be turned on/off in the preferences on HDX.

There can still be a compensation difference though when using native plugins on auxes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2019, 11:23 PM
HenrikUdd HenrikUdd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 16
Default Re: Anyway to get access to the native pro tools when being HDX ultimate user. Need

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
Is it known exactly how many samples you need to compensate for on any given bus? If so, you could insert Time Adjuster on masters of each relevant bus.

“Sidechain delay compensation can be turned on/off in the preferences on HDX.

There can still be a compensation difference though when using native plugins on auxes.”


Great! I will try this today. All plugins in the session is native except UAD ones.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2019, 05:23 AM
HenrikUdd HenrikUdd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 16
Default Re: Anyway to get access to the native pro tools when being HDX ultimate user. Need

Can't get it to match no matter what I do so I'll sort out a stereo drum export from the other guy, but it's really annoying that it's a difference between the HDX and native

Thanks for the replies
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD native card and Pro Tools Ultimate samplaire Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 07-05-2018 04:46 AM
FS: McDSP Analog Channel Native V5, 6020 Ultimate EQ Native V5 soundroad Buy & Sell 31 03-21-2016 06:03 AM
Admin Access vs. Restricted user access emf1138 Pro Tools 12 0 03-09-2016 09:42 AM
Access Violation 0x00000000 when loading Pro Tools 10.3.9 HD | Native amdini Windows 4 07-09-2014 11:12 AM
Native Instruments synths, how do i access them in pro-tools nuemethod Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-01-2007 10:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com