Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2019, 01:35 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 126
Default Shortcut to change command focus?

Dear members,

I searched the list of shortcuts, but I can't find a keyboard-shortcut to change command focus (the a...z button) from one area to another.
Is it possible?

Thanks.

Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2018.12, OMNI, SYNC HD, S3, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 24GB, OSX 10.12.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D v.10.9.10
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2019, 02:36 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,054
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...sing-shortcuts
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2019, 07:37 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,636
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

cmd-opt-1/2/3 will focus the various panes.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2019, 03:37 PM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 126
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

thanks very much. I didn't find it.
__________________
PT HDN 2018.12, OMNI, SYNC HD, S3, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 24GB, OSX 10.12.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D v.10.9.10
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2019, 02:29 PM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 126
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

...sorry, doesn't work on our systems.
Mojave and PT 2019.6.
Any suggestions?

Thanks
__________________
PT HDN 2018.12, OMNI, SYNC HD, S3, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 24GB, OSX 10.12.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D v.10.9.10
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2019, 04:20 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,054
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by marsian View Post
...sorry, doesn't work on our systems.
Mojave and PT 2019.6.
Any suggestions?

Thanks
You are using the number keys on the top of your keyboard (and NOT the keypad)? Keypad number keys don't work for this (they already have other shortcuts)

Also make sure you aren't using those shortcut keys in Apple>System Preferences>Keyboard>Shortcuts
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-2019, 10:23 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,636
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

I wonder if you have the "Undo History" window open, and if closing it fixes this behavior. There's definitely a bug where having the Undo History window breaks group enable/disable by keyboard command, and I wonder if it's related to this.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2019, 02:26 PM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 126
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

Hey,

thank you for the hints.

No, I don't have undo open, I don't see those shortcuts in system preferences and yes I'm using number keys on top of the keyboard.

Hm, any additional thing to check?


Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2018.12, OMNI, SYNC HD, S3, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 24GB, OSX 10.12.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D v.10.9.10
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2019, 03:39 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 126
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

...it is a bit odd.
When the edit window ist selected, those shortcuts do work.
When a plugin window ist selected, they also work.
But when the mix window is selected, they do nothing.


Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2018.12, OMNI, SYNC HD, S3, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 24GB, OSX 10.12.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D v.10.9.10
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2019, 07:52 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 552
Default Re: Shortcut to change command focus?

If we could have a focus for the solos ... (Shift S) and do only "S" or whatever, it would be really useful! When we have 200 tracks to listen with 1000 clips ... it wears the fingers ...
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shortcut to focus plugin in D-Command? audioluche ICON & C|24 4 05-29-2014 04:21 PM
Command Keyboard Focus mode ' E ' command bug ? vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-10-2009 05:49 AM
Command Focus shortcut sticker for = key (num pad) Karl Engel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-19-2006 10:42 AM
Commands focus keyboard shortcut Paul Maunder Tips & Tricks 1 03-19-2005 05:14 AM
Is there a shortcut to turn on/off commands-focus? cc1 Tips & Tricks 1 09-05-2004 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com