Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2010, 02:22 PM
PTNorthAudio PTNorthAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Needing some Troubleshooting assistance on a HD3 system

Hello all, the facility I work for runs an HD3 system (version 8.0.3) off a mac pro running snow leopard. We run 5 x 192's that take ADAT input from an RME ADI-648 up until recently they receive word clock from the RME as well.

Our RME decided to stop working so we replaced it with an identical unit, made sure all the settings where the same, and powered everything back up. Pro Tools plays back fine but when we try and record now it only gives us the first 16 channels with occasional spikes then a group of 8 channels with very random spiking then nothing for the rest of the channels. We usually record 50-60 channels at a time so we tested this by attempting to run 1k tone through every channel.

We've tested all the cables, rebooting, and even incorporated a sync I/O into the system thinking it might be a sync problem or clocking error and it still gives us the same problem. If any of you are familiar with this problem or have any ideas please let me know? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2010, 02:59 PM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Needing some Troubleshooting assistance on a HD3 system

Are you sure the original problem was the RME unit? Have you eliminated everything else in the chain? Can you use a known good ADAT unit into a 192 to see if it works?
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2010, 04:13 PM
PTNorthAudio PTNorthAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: Needing some Troubleshooting assistance on a HD3 system

Yes the first RME units power supply gave out, so we switched with the extra one, and it appears to be working fine it is taking MADI fine and showing good sync and appears to be outputting fine, we also checked the out puts of the current RME with a yamaha O1 and it looked and sounded fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2010, 06:36 PM
HD2 HD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 928
Default Re: Needing some Troubleshooting assistance on a HD3 system

You might get a better response in the more targeted section of PT HD on mac OS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2010, 10:57 AM
PTNorthAudio PTNorthAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: Needing some Troubleshooting assistance on a HD3 system

Sorry about that I was in a rush and blanked over it. Thanks I'll post it there as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
troubleshooting a system musicman691 General Discussion 2 02-12-2013 07:25 PM
HD3 system in need of troubleshooting help PTNorthAudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-13-2012 01:11 AM
Tech Supt: System info useful for troubleshooting? Jeff Ulmer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-10-2010 05:56 AM
Needing your help Thegenni Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-18-2007 01:55 PM
Buying new system assistance please Robby Hamilton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-12-2002 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com