Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2016, 07:36 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 832
Default Go-to Parametric EQs

Hi everyone. This is another one of those broad-stroke questions I've had over the past few years. My audio situation has improved dramatically to the point where I didn't really know how bad my system was until now. (new interface and noise clearing efforts, etc) I can hear things I never thought possible in there. Happy times.

So, long story short, I'm trying to find out if what I have is considered decent, or if I should invest a little green and learn a new EQ while having to re-learn EQ anyhow. Start off on solid ground, so to speak. I'm mostly looking for corrective type EQs, like parametric with tight Qs and such. Maybe I should throw in a Linear-Phase type in there, too? One of those, "don't know what I don't know" scenarios.

My main Parametric EQs
Blue Cat's Parametric EQ Pack
Avid's 7 and 1 band stock EQs
Brainworx Digital_V3 (and V2)(used sparingly to not get too resource hungry. Mostly to-busses)

I've test driven the Eiosis EQ, but was clouded by all the machine noises. I also have Izotope RX5 and use that often to clean what noise I can. (that's how bad it was before....)

So, what do you have, like and suggest?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2016, 07:44 AM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 295
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

My go to's are:

SSL X-Eq
Fabfilter Pro Q 2
McDsp

Hope it helps :)
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 ghz Intel Zeon, 20 gig ram, Yosemite 10.10.5, Pro Tools 10,11,12.7.1, Logic Pro X 10.2, UA Apollo 16 quad, UA Octo Pcies, Dangerous Music 2 Bus, Antelope Audio Satori, Lynx Studio Hilo, Neve 542, Neve 511, API 505 DI, Bettermaker CV502. Avid Artist Mix, Avid Artist Control, Softube Console 1 mk11.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2016, 08:17 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,771
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

My current fav is HOFA IQ-EQ with the eq in Izotope Alloy 2 a close second.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2016, 05:42 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,703
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotsBiker View Post
Avid's 7 and 1 band stock EQs
+1

Maag EQ4

Massenburg MDW EQ5 (when the Windows version gets fixed!)
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2016, 05:49 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

Fab Filter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2016, 05:57 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

Brainworx bx_Digital v3, Meldaproduction MEqualizerLinearPhase and MAutoDynamicEQ, Acon Equalize.

Shout out to Maag EQ4 and Nomad Factory Film-tone, even though these are technically graphic EQs. Then again, Maag EQ4 has one semi-parametric band.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2016, 06:15 PM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 295
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Brainworx bx_Digital v3, Meldaproduction MEqualizerLinearPhase and MAutoDynamicEQ, Acon Equalize.



Shout out to Maag EQ4 and Nomad Factory Film-tone, even though these are technically graphic EQs. Then again, Maag EQ4 has one semi-parametric band.


I completely forgot about Brainworx bx_3, a very fine equalizer
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 ghz Intel Zeon, 20 gig ram, Yosemite 10.10.5, Pro Tools 10,11,12.7.1, Logic Pro X 10.2, UA Apollo 16 quad, UA Octo Pcies, Dangerous Music 2 Bus, Antelope Audio Satori, Lynx Studio Hilo, Neve 542, Neve 511, API 505 DI, Bettermaker CV502. Avid Artist Mix, Avid Artist Control, Softube Console 1 mk11.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2016, 05:40 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 832
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

Wow guys! Lots of suggestions. Thanks very much. I've got much homework to do.

If anyone else has anything to add, please feel free. I will add to the list later, although it looks like plenty.

Would any of these be considered an every tracker type? Low CPU, good HP & LP filters, well suited for cleaning, cuts or subtractive uses, etc? I've got TONS of positive additive or analog tone type of EQs.

Alloy was not getting along with my system. Now it is. Perhaps the new interface's driver? Maybe PT 12.X fixed things? I am looking forward to when this comes out in module form like they did with Ozone.

I've always thought the BX_Digital V2 and V3 were resource heavy. Not sure where that thought came from. Perhaps the "Mix" version would be decent to use as an "every tracker"? (I have the Maag4, too, but it's not parametric, track cleaner type. Great sounding. I am such a Plug In Alliance and Softube junkie..... )

Here's my list to try of the ones I don't have now. Most from this thread. Some from research in this forum section before posting this thread.
Eiosis (hoping for a second test drive...first hindered by bad noise issues.)
DDMF EG Pro & LP10
Acon Equalize (looks extremely surgical, based on initial reading?)
Fabfilter Pro Q 2
McDsp (which one? I have the G-Channel)
HOFA IQ-EQ
Nomad Factory Film-tone*
Meldaproduction MEqualizerLinearPhase
Meldaproduction MAutoDynamicEQ



* = Even though not parametric....might be a good plug to test drive to get a feel for their plugs. I bought their 3-pack blitz deal when they needed to raise funds for ailing founder's health bills. (RIP)

Thanks again, everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2016, 11:11 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

I would say the DDMF stuff is more surgical than anything else on that list. I no longer have much use for the DDMF stuff because I'm more into Melda and Acon, but here's my take:

DDMF EQs and Acon Equalize are very similar. In fact, Equalize covers both the linear phase duties of LP10 and the minimum phase duties of IIEQpro.

A few differences though, namely Equalize doesn't have the switchable parallel/series topology or same selection of filter types as the DDMF EQs (this is what I meant by "more surgical"). Equalize supports more bands (12 vs 10) but doesn't have the multitrack control feature that IIEQpro has.

Honestly I like the DDMF and Acon EQs and I don't use any Fabfilter plug-ins. But I think most people would tell you that ProQ2 covers all this ground and more. So if you want to limit your purchase to a single EQ, that would probably be a good choice.

To your comment about Nomad Factory, they have some diamonds in the rough (Cosmos, Echoes, Magnetic II, the film-tone and music-tone EQs, All-Tech and PulseTech EQs, Magma, Blueverb) but most of their stuff is not really all that useful.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2016, 11:20 AM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 295
Default Re: Go-to Parametric EQs

Take a look at the McDSP FilterBank also .... Not too pricey, sounds great and covers pretty much most of the eq bases
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 ghz Intel Zeon, 20 gig ram, Yosemite 10.10.5, Pro Tools 10,11,12.7.1, Logic Pro X 10.2, UA Apollo 16 quad, UA Octo Pcies, Dangerous Music 2 Bus, Antelope Audio Satori, Lynx Studio Hilo, Neve 542, Neve 511, API 505 DI, Bettermaker CV502. Avid Artist Mix, Avid Artist Control, Softube Console 1 mk11.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ 5 (AAX DSP/Native) Dirk Reinking Buy & Sell 1 05-13-2016 10:14 AM
MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ v5 is now available Avid Technical Alerts 1 08-24-2012 01:55 PM
Massenburg MDW Hi-Res Parametric EQ v2 sonorus Buy & Sell 0 07-12-2012 07:26 AM
More 11R Parametric EQ settings Deny Eleven Rack 6 06-24-2011 07:00 AM
What is Q in a parametric? dummy20707 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-22-2002 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com