Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 02-17-2002, 08:20 PM

Default Recording Drum Kits

I've seen loads of articles on the placement of mics to get a great sound out of a drum kit. All very well, but how do you get say 3 or more XLR mics into the digi box since there is only two XLR inputs? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
External mixer [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img] I hope not.

I'm new to recording live drums so I have no idea. Would you get some sort of connecter to merge mics together or what? All other general recording concepts I know but this one I just can't wrap my head around. [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]

Cheers. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Old 02-17-2002, 09:10 PM

Default Re: Recording Drum Kits

As usual the answer involves more money! You would use an external mixer with mic pres and separate outs on each channel to feed inputs 3 through 8 on the digi001. There are also units such as the presonus digimax which give you a bank of mic pres to feed the digi.
Old 02-17-2002, 09:31 PM

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by msunj:
As usual the answer involves more money! You would use an external mixer with mic pres and separate outs on each channel to feed inputs 3 through 8 on the digi001. There are also units such as the presonus digimax which give you a bank of mic pres to feed the digi.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks, but I can't find any information about a product called DigiMax [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img] ???

There's plently of equipment listed that is sort of like that but cost about $3000 up. That's like $10000 Australian Dollars [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img], way too much.

Old 02-17-2002, 10:15 PM