Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2020, 08:28 AM
lampmusic lampmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Coastal GA
Posts: 355
Default Replacing Macbook Pro

As usual we are on a tight budget.


I'm seeing some discounts on previous gen 15 inch MBP.


I know future proofing would say that we should get the 16 inch (scissor).


Processor?: These days with vanilla PT what's more important 6core vs 8 core or RAM? 16 vs 32?


Anyone have experience making this switch?
__________________
Main System 2019 MBP 16 inch / I9 / 32GB RAM.
Pro Tools 2020.5.0


Studio: Old quad-core Mac Mini running PTHD 11 Native / AVID IO(won't pay reinstatement lol)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2020, 09:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,978
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

Today I would not buy a computer with only 16GB memory
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2020, 01:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,453
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Today I would not buy a computer with only 16GB memory
I tend to agree with this^^^ As for cpu, the speed is as important as the number of cores(maybe more so). IOW, 6 cores at 3.3GHz would be better than 8 cores at 2.5GHz
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2020, 06:40 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
... As for cpu, the speed is as important as the number of cores(maybe more so)...
Pro Tools does not (yet) take FULL advantage of all available cores. It tends to use certain cores, and leave other cores under-utilized. Pro Tools does, of course, benefit from a higher CPU speed.

Correct me if I'm wrong!!! Speed VS cores for Pro Tools? Experts?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2020, 10:41 PM
SigFriedChicken's Avatar
SigFriedChicken SigFriedChicken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 326
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

Check MacBench to compare performance stats, especially the multicore stuff.

16GB should be just enough RAM unless you are recording the Mormon Tabernacle Choir with individual lav mics.

I came close to saying that "if needed, it's easy to upgrade RAM!" but then I remembered that Apple is now in the habit of gluing the memory chips to the motherboard, so who knows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2020, 03:33 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,608
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

I know two things; processor speed is most important, not no. of cores, and the amount of ram you need depends on what kind of sessions you do.

If the session runs fine with 16gb, upgrading to 64gb will make no difference.

I'm running 30-40 track sessions with audio only just fine with only 8gb.

Insert some VIs and samplers, and it will break.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2020, 03:37 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,978
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

Keyword being audio.

When you even whisper "virtual instrument" PT will almost die if you don't have 16GB and if you use them heavily you most certainly want to have at least 32 GB. I have 64GB and don't need to worry about it, but to repeat myself I would not buy a computer today with only 16GB memory.

And what comes to CPU speed, better rely on GeekBench score and not GHz because clock speed is nowhere near the truth.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2020, 03:43 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,608
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Keyword being audio.

When you even whisper "virtual instrument" PT will almost die if you don't have 16GB and if you use them heavily you most certainly want to have at least 32 GB. I have 64GB and don't need to worry about it, but to repeat myself I would not buy a computer today with only 16GB memory.

And what comes to CPU speed, better rely on GeekBench score and not GHz because clock speed is nowhere near the truth.
Yep.

And on Geekbench you should look at the single- not multicore score.

And the OP did say "tight budget" that's why I said 8gb is possible, depending on the type of session.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2020, 03:48 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,978
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

Sure. Audio only is much more easy on hardware than VI's and heavy plugin use
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2020, 03:50 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,978
Default Re: Replacing Macbook Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
And on Geekbench you should look at the single- not multicore score.
That also depends. If you have one task at hand, better SC score helps. But when you have a moderate audio-only EQ+COMP mixdown of 32 tracks even then MC score starts to show its weight.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing the kit goga The Drum Room 3 01-23-2011 07:35 AM
Replacing Macbook Internal Drive with a 7200? jimmyz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-08-2007 12:46 PM
Does my PSU need replacing? Jamie Smith ICON & C|24 1 01-08-2007 09:29 PM
Replacing LE with TDM Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-18-2005 08:55 AM
replacing my 001 w/M-Box? Paul_Wolf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-30-2002 05:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com