Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2014, 12:32 AM
theresbuzz theresbuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 16
Default SSL Plug In Waves/UAD/McDSP etc

Hi,

I´m in the midst of buying some classic studio plug ins. I´m wondering which of the choices out there are more to the original console. Are there any differences? Unfortunately I can´t compare this stuff to a hardware model.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2014, 01:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: SSL Plug In Waves/UAD/McDSP etc

I haven't compared but have been very satisfied with the Waves plug.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2014, 01:39 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: SSL Plug In Waves/UAD/McDSP etc

UAD aren't AAX yet, if that's a concern of yours.

Edit: beta is out, apparently. But I often use UAD, actual hardware, and Waves. They're all different, and both plug-in varieties are equally far from the actual hardware.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2014, 02:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: SSL Plug In Waves/UAD/McDSP etc

UAD also don't behave nicely with the PT11 dual buffer so it's close to impossible to track with those plugs active. They're always using the large buffer for mixing.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2014, 03:56 AM
theresbuzz theresbuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 16
Default Re: SSL Plug In Waves/UAD/McDSP etc

What about CPU usage? Does one plugin eats more power?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2014, 04:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: SSL Plug In Waves/UAD/McDSP etc

Don't know about the other ones, but the Waves AAX-native behaves rather nicely on my system. I can blindly instantiate a SSL channel on all tracks if I want to, something that was unheard of in TDM sessions.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2014, 05:34 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: SSL Plug In Waves/UAD/McDSP etc

The Waves SSLs are highly renowned by many of course.
I have 2 other SSL variations here which are not too bad
either as there are the IK British Channel, the IK Bus Compressor
and the original Duende Native Channelstrip.
The IKs are nice and of good quality, working well in PT11 AAX and
quite affordable.
On the other hand it doesn´t sound cheap. It does sound like a SSL
(compared directly to the SSL Duende). Worth giving it a try.

With the Duende Native you definitely get the closest approach
sound wise to the original hardware, even closer than with the Waves.
The Duende got this "tightness" of the hardware which even the
Waves are missing, on the other hand you also get more kinda
"old-fashioned"/80s-kinda vibes than with the Waves.

Anyway, what´s cool about the Duende Channelstrip is that there is
absolutely 0 latency even when hosted by Blue Cat´s Patchwork.
This combination can definitely be used for recording.


Cheers, VRW


MacMini i7Quad, 16GB Ram, MacOS 10.9.1, Apogee Quartet, Genelec Active, Yamaha NS10, Pro Tools 11.1.2, Logic 10.0.6, Waves, MCDSP,
Duende Native, Softube, HOFA, IK Multimedia etc

Last edited by VRW; 02-13-2014 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-13-2014, 07:41 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,183
Default Re: SSL Plug In Waves/UAD/McDSP etc

Just be aware... Waves Plug-ins will not properly function with multiple video cards.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves SSL or McDSP Emerald Pack FlowDenny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-02-2006 08:51 PM
McDSP and Waves prices - looking around Stephen J 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-04-2004 10:18 AM
McDSP MC2000 vs Waves C4 polnetwork.com Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 06-07-2003 05:04 AM
Waves C4 vs McDSP MC2000 lwilliam Tips & Tricks 11 09-21-2000 08:32 PM
McDSP MC2000/WAVES C-4 InSights7 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-15-2000 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com