Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2009, 12:05 AM
nod25 nod25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BrisVegas, AUS
Posts: 1,013
Default Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder???

I just checked my PT8 Plug-Ins alias folder. When I "Show Original" the Plug-Ins in this folder point to my PT7.4 Plug-Ins folder even though I did a clean install of PT 8. My PT8 Plug-Ins alias folder points to:

HD (Tiger) / Applications / Digidesign / Pro Tools / Plug-Ins alias (my 7.4 Tiger install)

1. Does this mean my install of PT8 is accessing my PT7.4 Plug-Ins?

Where PT 8 was clean-installed, it contains only PT8 install Plug-Ins:

HD (Leopard) / Library / Applications Support / Digidesign / Plug-Ins

2. What is going on?

Thanks to anyone who can shed some light on this...
__________________

--------------------------------------------------


Why do people keep running over a string a dozen times with their vacuum cleaner, then reach down, pick it up, examine it, then put it down to give the vacuum one more chance?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2009, 04:00 AM
nod25 nod25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BrisVegas, AUS
Posts: 1,013
Default Re: Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder???

bumpity
__________________

--------------------------------------------------


Why do people keep running over a string a dozen times with their vacuum cleaner, then reach down, pick it up, examine it, then put it down to give the vacuum one more chance?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2009, 09:37 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder???

I don't think the alias matters too much.. It's just there for convenience maybe? If you want to see if PT8 is trying to use your 7.4 plug-ins (on Tiger) then just move all your 7.4 plug-ins to the Plug-ins(unused) folder and see what happens.. My guess is that you would have been having problems if PT8 was using 7.4 plug-ins...

Let me guess.. You did a clean install of Leopard, but you imported files and settings.. Then you installed PT8 over that...? That's the only thing that I could think of that would leave behind an alias pointing to the Tiger volume. The PT8 installer might not have seen it as a problem, so it didn't overwrite it
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2009, 04:43 PM
nod25 nod25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BrisVegas, AUS
Posts: 1,013
Default Re: Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder???

Thanks flommer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
Let me guess.. You did a clean install of Leopard, but you imported files and settings.. Then you installed PT8 over that...?
Clean install Leopard and PT8 from disc but I didn't import files and settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
The PT8 installer might not have seen it as a problem, so it didn't overwrite it
Good point.
__________________

--------------------------------------------------


Why do people keep running over a string a dozen times with their vacuum cleaner, then reach down, pick it up, examine it, then put it down to give the vacuum one more chance?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is there a VSTPlugins folder under my Avid folder? EnjoyRC Windows 1 10-28-2011 12:55 PM
Why can't I set my plugins root settings folder outside PT's default folder? RiF Pro Tools 9 4 09-26-2011 01:11 PM
"fade file" folder out of my session's main folder! preachers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-11-2009 10:08 PM
Want to reduce size of session folder. What am I doing wrong?? JChance 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-19-2008 02:38 AM
Digidesign folder in OS X's Library Folder Armando 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-26-2001 09:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com