Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2018, 08:14 PM
elwire elwire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: silicone valley, ca
Posts: 1
Default Resurrect old m-powered license w/no M-audio interface?

MY PEOPLE,

I am considering Paying to file an RMA (return merchandise authorization) with iLOK and then re-establishing a 10yr old license for Pro Tools M-powered. These days I am not using an M-audio interface and I am concerned some proprietary technical restriction would keep M-Powered Pro Tools from working on my current set up. Is it the case that M-powered Pro Tools can not function sans M-Audio interface? I heard rumor of this many many moons ago. Excited to re-join the fold I love Pro Tools and have used it professionally engineering in many studios. My home use was equally productive. (I wonder if my old license could be applied to Pro Tools LE?)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2018, 08:30 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,053
Default Re: Resurrect old m-powered license w/no M-audio interface?

Yes MP requires an MP compatible interface... if that is all you need you can find those used cheap... as long as a driver is available to run on whatever OS you are using.

There is no such thing as “LE” any more, it’s “Pro Tools” (replaced Pro Tools LE) and Pro Tools Ultimate (Replaced Pro Tools HD). And MP anything has long gone (replaced in part by either Pro Tools First or Pro Tools).

Your MP license may still help you. But I have no idea if Avid will still agree to replace a license on a *missing* iLok... Pace/iLok can replace a license if you have a dead iLok with the license on it. - it’s unclear why you need to “RMA” anything here - why? Is it broken? Or lost?

Your license options are here: https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/pr...-upgrade-chart

And I would strongly suggest calling Sweetwater sales.

The real issue you will face is not getting a license, it is making sure you have a compatible combination of interface/interface driver version/OS version/Pro Tools version. The sales rep should be asking you lots of questions about that.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-18-2018 at 10:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2018, 08:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,053
Default Re: Resurrect old m-powered license w/no M-audio interface?

Just a Google away...

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ility/en408271
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resurrect Steve Jobs EdFaris Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 69 06-19-2013 07:27 PM
Pro tools 8 M-Powered, which audio interface nmurray Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-01-2012 12:18 PM
Avid! I bought LE, an M-Audio interface, I ain't buying M-Powered as well! Upgrade? RhysC General Discussion 9 07-23-2010 03:56 AM
Pro Tools 8 M Powered and M-AUDIO fast track interface problem when recording olpolo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-08-2010 05:21 AM
Petition: Resurrect and Enhance Force-Relinking Dan Pinder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 12-19-2005 04:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com