Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2016, 08:59 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,146
Default Latch Shft Key

Hey all,

Is it possible to latch the shift key to immediately access the secondary functions?

Thanks
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2016, 12:25 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,053
Default Re: Latch Shft Key

Yes. In fact it latches by default. But I reprogrammed the leftmost transport key to do Back and Play without shift instead of the antiquated and useless RTZ. This thing is super-customizable.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2016, 03:42 PM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 403
Default Re: Latch Shft Key

Left Shift Key latches, Right sided shift key is momentary... best of both worlds...
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro Quad core, OSX 10.13.2
PT 2019.5.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Eucon 3.5/iPad Air2/ iOS 12.2/ProTools|Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2016, 07:10 PM
msw msw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: London, England
Posts: 24
Default Re: Latch Shft Key

Actually they both latch and don't latch depending how you press. If you press and release immediately either left or right will stay latched. If you press and hold momentarily before releasing they don't latch.
__________________
Mark Willsher
www.pin3hot.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2016, 12:12 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,146
Default Latch Shft Key

Ok, great to know. Thanks all.

It almost seems that for simpler automation, the Dock automation layout is better than when using a D-Command. Modes and some of the actions all in one place.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touch/Latch - Preview - Ends up in Latch? YMAaron Post - Surround - Video 3 07-19-2016 04:11 PM
RE: Export Selected (Cmd+shft+k) sometimes doesn't work alex s 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-09-2016 10:22 AM
Automation: touch/latch changes to latch ha2dorff Pro Tools 12 2 09-24-2015 04:38 PM
Feature Request - Modifiers for Shft-S/M/R commands on PT8 JWalkerPostAudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-28-2009 05:14 PM
ctrl+shft+B the_dr38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-30-2005 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com