Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2017, 03:02 AM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Default Frustration navigating the midi editor. Any tips for me?

When I'm scoring I use a lot of different CCs to create dynamics and all things expressive. It's really frustrating that every time I want to switch from one to another, I have to click the drop down menu and select the CC. Yes, I know I can use multiple lanes, but I prefer to have one lane open at a time and keep it very large, because a lot of my programming is rather tedious and requires precision. I know you can switch between parameters using the same shortcut you'd switch between waveform and volume in an audio track, but there are so many listed, and the CCs are in a drop down menu of a drop down menu, so you cant even get to them.

Is there a short cut I don't know about? Or a third party app that will let me create a shortcut?

I recently downloaded the demo for Studio One 3. They really made their midi window so quick and easy to get around in. If the audio editing features weren't so annoying I'd be switching. Please Avid, give us a midi editor window that is on par with every other DAW out there today.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1
OS X 10.12.1
nMP 6 Core
Dual AMD FirePro D300
32 GB Ram
Syphony i/o 8x8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2017, 05:39 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Frustration navigating the midi editor. Any tips for me?

If you click with the Selector tool in the controller lane, you can use Ctrl+Cmd+left/right arrows.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Editor and MIDI Event Editor keyboard commands broken 12.4 HD Marsdy Pro Tools 12 5 01-31-2016 05:01 AM
Softkeys editor- why is so basic? Exist any tips? AMIEL Artist Series 10 11-02-2012 08:30 AM
Problem navigating after adding a MIDI track mahler007 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-22-2006 05:09 AM
MIDI Frustration... HELP shendrie MIDI 0 07-27-2003 02:06 PM
MIDI frustration... HELP shendrie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-26-2003 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com