Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-10-2013, 12:37 AM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 243
Default Re: HD Native and Dante

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Nope you can't do that test as the 002 (and 003) drivers do not support aggregating. And no, you also cannot aggregate any HD Native or HDX IO with any core audio devices. You are pretty locked in with a HD environment for bad (marketing) and probably good (aggregation can be pretty unreliable) reasons. If you want to connect bulk IO into a HD environment the options today really are interfaces that use TDM/emulate an Avid HD interface box, ADAT/SMUX and MADI. Hopefully Avid will do some more AVB toys in future, but then AVB is different again from Dante.
Be sure to add the Focusrite Rednet 5 to that list. I use four of 'em to bring 128 channels of Dante directly into two HDX cards. (Had to have the lowest latency possible.)

As I understand it Dante is a subset of AVB and Audinate maintains it as such.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 19.5.1, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 RME FF800/TCO, Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-2013, 01:01 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,052
Default Re: HD Native and Dante

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Baird View Post
Be sure to add the Focusrite Rednet 5 to that list. I use four of 'em to bring 128 channels of Dante directly into two HDX cards. (Had to have the lowest latency possible.)



As I understand it Dante is a subset of AVB and Audinate maintains it as such.



Peter

Yep that is counted as an interface that just emulates an Avid HD/TDM interface. Quite nice today if you want to use Ethernet.

But when a Dante and an AVB device can just connect and talk to each other I will be impressed. IMNSHO Audinate has a limited time in the market to get Dante fully AVB compatible or get rolled over by commoditization.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live Recording Danté Jeroen.Kox Pro Tools 10 16 08-06-2013 06:57 AM
Dante issues with PT 10 AnthonyDW macOS 3 10-08-2012 03:48 PM
Venue and Dante bnmohr VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 03-31-2012 12:53 PM
Protool 9 with Dante JCBigler Pro Tools 9 3 09-05-2011 07:43 PM
Audinate Dante and PT9 njrsound macOS 1 04-25-2011 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com