Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2001, 04:20 AM
Rob van Hees Rob van Hees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Default SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

Since a couple of days the SPDIF OUT from my AMIII gives only digital clicks.
Any suggstions ? (hope it's not broken)

Thank you.

OS 9.1 ; PT LE 5.1.1
__________________
Rob van Hees
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2001, 07:55 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,590
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

-Open the Setups>Hardware window and enable "Internal" from the Sync Mode menu. Any changes?

-Does this behavior persist regardless of the status of "S/PDIF Mirroring" option (Setups>Hardware>Other Options)?

-What model computer are you using?

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2001, 03:25 AM
Rob van Hees Rob van Hees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

The option "INTERNAL SYNC' is enabled;
switching back and forth from external to internal doesn't make a difference.
SPDIF mirror on/of option doesn't make a differnce either.
I use a dual G4 533.

Rob van Hees.
__________________
Rob van Hees
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2001, 04:11 AM
petter petter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 738
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

Welcome to the club!
Sorry if I am sarcastic, it is not the meaning!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2001, 08:22 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,590
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

-Locate the first string of alpha-numeric characters under the words “PCI Matchmaker” on the large chip in the center of the card. If the string ends with the letter Q or QC, you need to get the card upgraded.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2001, 08:25 AM
petter petter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 738
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

Hey, this was something new...!!
I am on a digi001. Is there some upgrade too?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2001, 12:57 AM
Rob van Hees Rob van Hees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

I bought the audiomedia III card within a ToolBox XP package.
I assume the card is therefore up to date.
And why must I upgrade the card when it worked flawlessly ??


Thanx for any response so far !

Rob van Hees
__________________
Rob van Hees
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2001, 05:49 AM
KamaSutra77 KamaSutra77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

Yes the notion of an upgrade card, or a revised card to fix optical input clik problems is quite new..... Details please
i have a similar problem with he digi001, apparent clicks on the signal into the optical form a qs.8 keyboard.
__________________
Huh?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-18-2001, 08:08 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,590
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Rob van Hees:
The option "INTERNAL SYNC' is enabled;
switching back and forth from external to internal doesn't make a difference.
SPDIF mirror on/of option doesn't make a differnce either.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

-From this information, it appears that you may be dealing with hardware failure.

-Run DigiTest. What does it report?

Brent


NOTE:
-Only AMIII cards are subject to a possible upgrade for PCI 2.1 compliancy. There is no such hardware revision for Digi001 hardware
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-18-2001, 02:04 PM
Rob van Hees Rob van Hees is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Default Re: SPDIF OUT gives digital cracks

I did indeed ran the digitest.
It showed no hardware problems of any kind.

Rob van Hees
__________________
Rob van Hees
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tempo Events producing digital cracks filosofem Virtual Instruments 8 04-23-2013 12:06 AM
Digi 002 SPDIF / Art Digital MPA - Need help! scava 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-02-2010 01:30 PM
Digital Clicks using SPDIF paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-18-2008 12:10 PM
SPDIF digital input Electrohermit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-25-2003 07:43 PM
VS1680 to Digi001 via SPDIF: cracks and pops klwilbur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-09-2001 12:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com