Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2019, 09:31 AM
mcnichols mcnichols is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Weston-super-mare UK
Posts: 15
Default Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

Hi. I'm looking to upgrade my Mac Pro 5.1 to Mojave with PT Ultimate 2019.6 and HDX card/HD interfaces to see if performance improves over High Sierra. I note that Avid qualify just ONE graphics card - the MSI RX560 (of which there seem to be several versions available - very confusing).

Has anyone tried this yet? Is it worth doing? EXACTLY which variant of GPU card are you using? Do you still get the grey 'boot' screen at startup or nothing until the 'login' screen? Is the latest version of Mojave OK?

I'm looking at this card currently on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0728B1M...v_ov_lig_dp_it

My Mac Pro was a 4.1 machine with CPU upgrade (12 cores) flashed to 5.1 spec, 48Gb memory, and Samsung 850 SSD (APFS) boot drive (sorry - haven't updated system details below yet).

Thanks in advance,

Martin.
__________________
Martin Nichols

PT Ultimate 2019.6, Mac Pro 12-core 5.1, 48Gb RAM, High Sierra OS, HDX card with HD interfaces.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2019, 10:03 AM
tclash tclash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 251
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

I'm using a flashed Radeon 7950 in my MP 4.1->5.1 (6-core 3.46), running two 20" Cinema Displays, with Mojave 10.14.5 and PT 2019.5. I still get boot screen and other than app/finder windows sometimes moving from one display to the other on restart it works perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2019, 10:41 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnichols View Post
Hi. I'm looking to upgrade my Mac Pro 5.1 to Mojave with PT Ultimate 2019.6 and HDX card/HD interfaces to see if performance improves over High Sierra. I note that Avid qualify just ONE graphics card - the MSI RX560 (of which there seem to be several versions available - very confusing).

Has anyone tried this yet? Is it worth doing? EXACTLY which variant of GPU card are you using? Do you still get the grey 'boot' screen at startup or nothing until the 'login' screen? Is the latest version of Mojave OK?

I'm looking at this card currently on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0728B1M...v_ov_lig_dp_it

My Mac Pro was a 4.1 machine with CPU upgrade (12 cores) flashed to 5.1 spec, 48Gb memory, and Samsung 850 SSD (APFS) boot drive (sorry - haven't updated system details below yet).

Thanks in advance,

Martin.
Not sure about what Avid has "qualified"

But Apple has made this statement of Mojave capable GUP's (for Mid 2010 and 2012 I am guessing an upgraded 4.1 will work
I am going to get the Sapphire Pulse RX 580

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208898
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2019, 12:51 PM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 483
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

Flashed for Mac RX 580s are now being sold at macvidcards.com for 5,1 macs or you can have them flash one for you and run on internal power or if you want a lot more power you can install a VII
https://barefeats.com/macs-and-radeon-vii.html But will need to give it extra power and currently no boot screen /flashing but that may change in the future.
__________________
OS X 10.12.1 PT 12.6.1 HD
HD Native pcie / Omni
Mac Pro 2009 upgraded to 5,1 12 core 3.33ghz, flashed Geforce 980ti, Samsung Samsung SM951 M.2 PCIe SSD (AHCI model) pcie boot drive OWC PCIE Mercury Assessor system clone drive, usb 3 card
Pro Tools Native and Omni PT12
Midas M32r console.
Director and Engineer for Front and Center on PBS /MTV
Director and Engineer for Speakeasy on PBS
Engineer for MTV Live new artist series
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2019, 02:02 PM
mcnichols mcnichols is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Weston-super-mare UK
Posts: 15
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

Thanks for the replies so far - encouraging.

By Avid 'qualified' I was referring to the warning on the Pro Tools 2018 System Requirements page relating to the Mac Pro, specifically:

"Notes:
(*) MSI Radeon RX560 required when using macOS Mojave. Other graphics cards have been shown to cause errors in Pro Tools."

So I'd really appreciate hearing from anyone's with experience using this card please, good or bad.

Interesting that Apple do not say anything about a Mac version this card on their recommended GPUs for Mojave, which they do for others, hence the question about the boot screen.

Main reason for wanting to try Mojave is to see if it gets around the intermittent (usually one-off) -9093 error on playback/record, currently being investigated by Avid support.
__________________
Martin Nichols

PT Ultimate 2019.6, Mac Pro 12-core 5.1, 48Gb RAM, High Sierra OS, HDX card with HD interfaces.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2019, 02:17 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

Mojave and 2019.5 are working wery well together.. just be sure your hardware is capable of running Mojave and you should be fine. This "metal" thing shouldn't be a problem for recent macs but good to do the research before upgrading
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2019, 02:20 PM
mcnichols mcnichols is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Weston-super-mare UK
Posts: 15
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

Thanks Janne. May I ask if you're an a MacPro 5.1, and if so which GPU you're using?
__________________
Martin Nichols

PT Ultimate 2019.6, Mac Pro 12-core 5.1, 48Gb RAM, High Sierra OS, HDX card with HD interfaces.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2019, 02:52 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 627
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

I tossed a Sapphire RX580 into my 5,1 Mac Pro a few days ago. It has been incident free running Mojave & HDX with 2019.6. It's a non-EFI card, but I'm not fussed by it as my computer stays on for weeks at a time.

One thing that I did discover through the process is that you need to run the OSX Mojave installer from either a USB stick or from one of the internal SATAII ports inside the 5,1 Mac Pro for it to update the firmware on the machine. It won't update the firmware during the installation process if you try and execute the installer from a PCIe based SSD. If you are running a non-EFI card, just follow the instructions given by the Mojave installer. You will experience a black screen during the firmware upgrade process but you can check if it was successful via the system info in OSX (boot rom: 144.0.0.0.0 is what you are aiming for).
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2019, 03:59 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,336
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnichols View Post
Thanks Janne. May I ask if you're an a MacPro 5.1, and if so which GPU you're using?
No I have the 6.1 trashcan
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2019, 05:53 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 842
Default Re: Mac Pro 5.1 Mojave - what GPU cards work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I tossed a Sapphire RX580 into my 5,1 Mac Pro a few days ago. It has been incident free running Mojave & HDX with 2019.6. It's a non-EFI card, but I'm not fussed by it as my computer stays on for weeks at a time.



One thing that I did discover through the process is that you need to run the OSX Mojave installer from either a USB stick or from one of the internal SATAII ports inside the 5,1 Mac Pro for it to update the firmware on the machine. It won't update the firmware during the installation process if you try and execute the installer from a PCIe based SSD. If you are running a non-EFI card, just follow the instructions given by the Mojave installer. You will experience a black screen during the firmware upgrade process but you can check if it was successful via the system info in OSX (boot rom: 144.0.0.0.0 is what you are aiming for).
Great to know thanks. I'm on high Sierra still. Will update soon.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the cards in my G5 work in a new Mac Pro? megahurt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-09-2009 04:04 AM
Do all MIX Core cards work in G4s? Sensei Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-10-2004 05:52 PM
D24...will my cards work in a G4? Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-28-2002 06:48 AM
Do firewire cards work with PT? Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-09-2002 07:00 PM
PT Cards work in all countries? SteveGarman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-10-2001 09:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com