Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2019, 10:41 PM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

Hi there,
Recently I finished an album and the master engineer give me .wav files. I import them into Pro Tools and the stereo audio file does not automatically create 1 stereo track, but created 2 mono tracks, while in the region list it still display as 1 file (with the click to open arrow) but has "2A channels".

1.This is like a 2 split mono files but stored in 1 audio file, which got me confusing, anyone can explain more?

2.I need to convert that 24/48 file to 16/441 so here's what I did:
Import by add or drag audio into editing window, they show in 2 mono tracks, I create a stereo track, drag that 2 mono tracks into the new stereo track and they are now one stereo file and I right click in the region list to export as files and choose 16441.
Am I doing right?

3. By the way, just out of curiosity, it seems PT actually changes the file while import that 2A channel audio file, here's what I found:
Do a checksum of the original 2A channel audio file (1 file), import by add or drag into editing window, after import do another checksum of the original file and hash is different. Add or drag regular stereo file does not change the original file. What could PT add to that file?

Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2019, 12:24 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 602
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

Files inside PT have always been mono. When you import a stereo file PT de-interleaves the audio into left and right hence the L and R files in the clip list. The on-screen stereo file is just a graphical representation. This is also why when bouncing or exporting you are given the choice of separate mono or interleaved. The same applies to multichannel files like 5.1 as well.
These mono files can be very useful if you need to extract or apply processing to just one.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB - 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.0b7 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2019, 02:43 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizzoboy View Post
Files inside PT have always been mono. When you import a stereo file PT de-interleaves the audio into left and right hence the L and R files in the clip list. The on-screen stereo file is just a graphical representation. This is also why when bouncing or exporting you are given the choice of separate mono or interleaved. The same applies to multichannel files like 5.1 as well.
These mono files can be very useful if you need to extract or apply processing to just one.
All incorrect.

They changed that Pro Tools 10.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2019, 03:58 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 264
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockman413 View Post

2.I need to convert that 24/48 file to 16/441 so here's what I did:
Import by add or drag audio into editing window, they show in 2 mono tracks, I create a stereo track, drag that 2 mono tracks into the new stereo track and they are now one stereo file and I right click in the region list to export as files and choose 16441.
Am I doing right?



Thanks
Why did the mastering engineer gave a 24/48 file? Ask him to do the conversion. He has better tools and I'm pretty sure if you ask him, he'll give you a 16/44.1 file.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2019, 04:32 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,530
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Why did the mastering engineer gave a 24/48 file? Ask him to do the conversion. He has better tools and I'm pretty sure if you ask him, he'll give you a 16/44.1 file.


I sometimes get asked to supply masters in that format or higher.

But, I tend to agree that you should ask your mastering engineer to give you the 44.1/16 files if that’s the delivery medium you need.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2019, 10:45 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I sometimes get asked to supply masters in that format or higher.

But, I tend to agree that you should ask your mastering engineer to give you the 44.1/16 files if that’s the delivery medium you need.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Oh shoot, I already import to Pro Tools and export selected file and choose 16/441 and let Pro Tools do the conversion. I already uploaded everything... Will it still worth to wait another 10 days and ask my mastering engineer to give me 16/441?
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2019, 10:46 AM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

guys, I suppose what I did (in the original post) is correct for draging two mono audio region into one stereo track, so I can select them as a stereo file, right?
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0G 8 Cores PT HD use with Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2019, 10:55 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,682
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockman413 View Post
guys, I suppose what I did (in the original post) is correct for draging two mono audio region into one stereo track, so I can select them as a stereo file, right?
yes, thats correct ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2019, 02:50 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 602
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

BScout, I must disagree with you. Imported stereo interleaved audio is split into two mono files by PT. These are stereo interleaved audio tracks imported into a session in PT 2018.3. As you can see in the Audio Files folder, they are saved as mono left and right. A 5.1 interleaved file will be saved in the Audio Files folder as six mono files.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Tracks.JPG (30.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB - 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.0b7 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2019, 04:24 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,530
Default Re: Difference between 2A channels V.S. normal Stereo?

Well you’re both right really, although BScout is technically correct in that it was changed some time ago.

I’d guess that the reason your Audio Files folder has split L and R files is because you didn’t tick the INTERLEAVED checkbox when creating a new session.

If you did, you’d definitely have single audio files that contain both L and R channels.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the difference between Mono & Stereo? Mattitude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 08-18-2009 12:44 AM
The file is not stereo two channels..... tarzo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-29-2004 04:04 AM
No 'trim' on stereo channels, where's pow-r? Joris de Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-12-2001 06:34 AM
stereo or mon aux channels? Dead River Studio Tips & Tricks 2 06-26-2001 09:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com