Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2018, 06:21 PM
NateAlexander NateAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 54
Default VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

Just wondering if this is possible or a thing:

Can you set up a VCA fader that will raise one channel while raising another?

Like, I have Audio 1 is mix A, Audio 2 is mix B, and I want to set up a fader that when I raise it, raises mix B and lowers mix A, and vice versa
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2018, 06:22 PM
NateAlexander NateAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

basically, like a crossfader on a turntable deck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2018, 08:48 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

Not a function in Pro Tools(or any other DAW I am aware of).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:29 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,622
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

Is this for live use or you just want to check different mixes quickly?

If you just want to check mixes you could switch the way SOLO works to X-OR

For a crossfade like a turntable you could use automation, but it's not a function I am aware of.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2018, 11:51 AM
NateAlexander NateAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Not a function in Pro Tools(or any other DAW I am aware of).
in Ableton, they have an A/B crossfader built in, AND you can invert the value of any pan pot on an instrument rack, so you could actually make this happen pretty easily with some clever routing and assignments
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2018, 11:52 AM
NateAlexander NateAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Is this for live use or you just want to check different mixes quickly?

If you just want to check mixes you could switch the way SOLO works to X-OR

For a crossfade like a turntable you could use automation, but it's not a function I am aware of.
auditioning layers for a video game, which come in and out more smoothly than SOLO on/off one or multiple tracks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2018, 11:57 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,209
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

The niche of Ableton is live performances. Pro Tools is more focused on studio work.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2018, 01:18 PM
NateAlexander NateAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
The niche of Ableton is live performances. Pro Tools is more focused on studio work.
i know what they're for... though I think Ableton's presence in the field has extended beyond live performance over the last 8 years, and there are people who mix live with pro tools (just, they have a board).

what i'm talking about doesn't really fall into a live performance category, just handy for someone who is in a room with a mouse and keyboard trying to make multiple opposite fader changes simultaneously for a producer/director/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2018, 02:56 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,209
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

Sounds like a job for BOZ Digital, he's always making gadgets like that. You can get a control surface although I think getting a copy of Ableton would be cheaper and faster.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2018, 03:11 PM
NateAlexander NateAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others?

i have Ableton! great piece of software i've been using it to produce almost as much as PT since v.7, but it's just not even on the same planet for audio and working to picture

i'll look into BOZ digital, thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mono Track audio lowers after normalization Hypersqurell Pro Tools 11 3 06-23-2017 10:47 AM
Plugin raises gain 3db? madlo macOS 1 07-08-2012 03:05 AM
PT8 lowers FTU sample rate to 44.1 marbleagle Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 01-10-2010 07:18 AM
Request for function buttons on DIGI 002 to function stoogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-05-2003 06:57 AM
Waves C4 increases peaks, lowers RMS?? kid pro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-15-2003 06:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com