Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-31-2014, 01:55 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
I thought that the unison tech is just used when recording.. once the track is recorded to the drive I thought that the DSP is no longer in use. Are u saying that even after the track is recorded w/ unison, the DSP is still being used/taxed by the unison plugins on playback?

Unison Mic Pre's are real life changes in impedance on a microphone (via the pre circuit)

DSP is Digital signal processing and is the power to run Universal Audio's line of plugins.

GET THE QUAD - it's worth every penny, I would say a Duo is barely usable (however with an Apollo it might be possible) because you can record with DSP and Eq's engaged....but if anything is UA's Achilles Heel it's the power of the cards.


Quick answer get the quad, sell the dog, heck sell a guitar and amp, get the quad if your gonna get the Apollo.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-31-2014, 01:56 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
Are you saying that as technology advances the speed of the Quartets USB2 connection will run slower than it does now? I don't really get how that would work
Nope. Fortunately that never ever ain´t gonna happen .
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:03 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
On the other hand I would NEVER recommend anyone getting an older USB2 interface anymore as they have been out for a while and the USB2 yechnology is getting older and older and slower and slower.

What he means is usb2 tech has been out there awhile....and it's mostly the low end of the spectrum as far as connections of interfaces go......(MOTU and Apogee aside)

Ideas to remember

Usb2 may not be coming out on any new interfaces, but it will be supported till time without end.

The faster a connection the less latency is induced into the chain, thus the all out lust for thunderbolt connected interfaces

For small projects I don't honestly see why USB2 wouldn't be a stable platform especially with a name so sacred as Apogee's
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:04 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

The Quad may be nice because of the plugs but honestly it ain´t the latest stuff either.
For the price of a Quad I would prefer this one by far
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/EnsembleTB

this is really cool sh.. and another level audio quality wise

Happy 2015 everybody!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:05 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

I agree $2500 seems like it would be well spent, right there
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:25 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

That ensemble is too expensive. If someone could clarify my question about the unison tech.. I thought that the DSP is only in use when tracking, as the mic pre is emulating the plugin pre during recording. When in playback mode, I thought that there is no DSP use cuz the unison is only active during tracking. Am I correct or incorrect?

Thanks for all the help,
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:28 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Unison Mic Pre's are real life changes in impedance on a microphone (via the pre circuit)

DSP is Digital signal processing and is the power to run Universal Audio's line of plugins.

GET THE QUAD - it's worth every penny, I would say a Duo is barely usable (however with an Apollo it might be possible) because you can record with DSP and Eq's engaged....but if anything is UA's Achilles Heel it's the power of the cards.


Quick answer get the quad, sell the dog, heck sell a guitar and amp, get the quad if your gonna get the Apollo.

I already did here
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:32 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
the mic pre is emulating the plugin pre during recording.
The emulation comes in when you use that 610 plug-in, or API


Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
When in playback mode, I thought that there is no DSP use cuz the unison is only active during tracking.

Yeah but what about when you want to use an EQ? Or what about when you want to use a delay a fact? Or my most favorite plug-in probably in Universal audio's line if you want to use the compressor?

Sure you could track with the compressor but most people don't do it like that because it's easy to screw up, it's not uncommon to use many different EQ's an many different compressors across many different types of tracks all of which will be tasking your DSP chip during playback
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:34 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

So then your saying even after tracking with the unison preamp plug of your choice, it's still using up the DSP after tracking. If this so you can change the recording settings on the unison pre? But you're also saying that the Apollo Duo (or Quad) has a setting where you can set the unison pre to record (and basically do a one off recording w the unison pre settings) where the values can't be changed after tracking. In this situation the DSP won't be still in use after tracking.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:41 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
So then your saying even after tracking with the unison preamp plug of your choice, it's still using up the DSP after tracking.
see above post....but yes after tracking you won't be using the DSP for the unison preamp......but you might want to use another plugin before uploading your song to itunes.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
But you're also saying that the Apollo Duo (or Quad) has a setting where you can set the unison pre to record..... where the values can't be changed after tracking.
you can record fx to disk, yes the Apollo line can do this.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
In this situation the DSP won't be still in use after tracking.
correct....


but as I stated earlier you might want to use another plugin besides a channel strip before your done with the song........

ie a delay effect
ie a compressor
ie a EQ across the 2track output.......

point is....if you get the DUO you may wake up one day and realize you should have got more horsepower under the hood the first time.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UAD Apollo Twin as Standalone DSP with PT HD? outoftune Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 12-04-2015 08:39 AM
PT 11.2.2 with Mavericks / Apollo Twin Problem lcovemusic macOS 4 12-08-2014 06:04 PM
UAD Apollo Twin question... Rosco1969 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 5 09-23-2014 01:07 PM
PT 11 HD on Macbook w UA Apollo Twin? jacknprewitt Pro Tools 11 3 06-07-2014 08:49 AM
New UA Apollo Twin nst7 Third Party Interfaces 0 01-23-2014 09:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com