Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2014, 03:42 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Macbook Pro?

Hey there. I just purchased a Macbook pro A1278. It was new, but older model. Has firewire, and CD drive, and ethernet port ... which the new ones don't. But doesn't have the SSD flash drive, but rather the 750gb 5400 rpm drive.
Will my PT8 work on this model?
Specifics: 2.9ghz intel core i7 with 4mb L3 cache; turbo boost up to 3.1ghz; 8gb of DDR3 SDRAM;

Or should I go with newer model with SSD flash drive ... but no cd rom, firewire, ethernet, and frankly for me to afford it, a smaller drive size.

Please help
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:05 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

A newer model will not boot into an older Os required for PT8. Goto the
PT8 page on AVID for OS requirements but I think OS 10.5 was the last OS supported by PT8.

You need to know the OS for this Mac Book Pro. If I were you, I'd get a new MacBook Pro (or referb from Apple of an earlier model that boots into Mountain Lion) and get PT 10/11 as PT8 is just going to keep you in the dark ages forever.

LEX
__________________
Ultimate 2018.7
MacPro 12 Core 3.46 - 10.13.6
128 Gigs RAM
EFI flashed 580 GPU
3 card PCI-e expansion chassis.
Avid Artist Control
Apollo 8 Quad, Satellite Quad, Octo Card
Cranesong Avocet Monitor System.
WireWorld ProAudio Cables
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:08 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

What OS? I thought PT8 support was stopped at 10.6.8
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:38 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Appreciate the responses. It does have OS X (10 I assume )

I am thinking of going to PT 11 sometime, but don't have the cash to do that (and newer MacBook PRO) right now.
This one will still work when I do move to PT11 I would think.
But I also like that it has a DVD drive, which I really can't understand why most macbooks don't (that's a little dark ages if you ask me! lol)
For my budget, to get the newest MacBookPRO, I'm getting a slower processor (2.4ghz i5) and smaller harddrive (256gb) ... so I'm a bit torn.
Maybe you are right. Hmmmm.

Any other opinions/thoughts? Not sure whether to open this box, or swap it for a newer, but "less powerful/less HD capacity" ...
Why can't this be easy ; )
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2014, 04:51 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,731
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

If you want to be sure to have a working MBP for PT11 you need an i7 processor and a minimum of 8GB ram. However your harddrive is too slow for really working with a session that has VI and plugins so if you decide to keep this MBP, swap out the internal dvd/cd and put a SSD 256/512 GB samsung pro 840 or 840 ECO so you record to that one as your internal drive is only 5400 rpm which is gonna be waaayyyy to slow for using PT.

To make it simple, Choose i7 CPU and get atleast one SSD drive for recording to and preferably swap out the 5400 rpm aswell to a 2.5" SSD or a mini um 7200rpm..

Always choose the better CPU as RAM can be swapped out pretty cheaply but a CPU will be expensive to change later on

Best of Luck
Chris
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2014, 05:04 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Really great feedback/response. Thank you Chris.
Well, I think I should be smart and take this one back and get the newer version. Getting one with i7 and 8gb is so pricey is the big problem.

The new MBP with i7 and 8gb and SSD drive, I can run PT 8.03 on this one, correct? I'm having hard time deciphering the avid system requirements tables to be honest.
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2014, 05:13 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,731
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Hi

You can NOT run PT8 on Mavericks nor 10.8 and you would need PT11 for the new computer. If you are gonna ise PT8 you would need an older OSX like 10.6.8 or the likes. Just stude the compatibility chart so you are 100000% sure you get the correct OSX and PT version. If you want to be sure then upgrade to PT11 and you won't have these headaches.

Sorry to be the barer of nad news but PT8 is really ancient now and won't be compatible with anything newer.

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2014, 05:16 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,731
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Here is a snippet of the compatibility chart :

Compatibility Summary

Pro Tools 8.0.5 supports the same Pro Tools core systems as version 8.0.3 and 8.0.4, with the following operating systems:

Mac OS X 10.6.1 – 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
Windows XP Service Pack 3 (Home or Professional, 32-bit)
Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (32-bit)
Windows 7 (32 and 64-bit)
Windows 7 is officially supported with Pro Tools LE and M-Powered 8.0.4 and higher, Pro Tools SE 8.0.3, and Pro Tools M-Powered Essential 8.0.3
Although not officially supported, Pro Tools HD 8.0.5 can be used on Windows 7 (32 and 64-bit). Pro Tools HD 9 adds official support for Windows 7.

Please Note:
Pro Tools 8.0.5 will be the last version of Pro Tools to support Macintosh Leopard (10.5.x), and Windows Vista operating systems. It will also be the last version of Pro Tools LE and M-Powered to support Windows XP.

End snippet!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2014, 05:40 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

This is really great, thanks so much for taking the time to help me through this Chris.
Well, I think I will bite the bullet and get the newer MBP with i7 and 8gb ram .... I may not be able to use PT8 on it, but I will continue to use my desktop computer for now, and maybe in a month I will splurge on PT11. Wish it wasn't so pricey for those who've spent money on several previous versions of PT already, but ah well.

Thank you again, very much appreciate the advice and info!

Trevor
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-20-2014, 05:45 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Oh hey, Chris, just one more thing if you don't mind. I asked this one before but got a couple of different answers and just want to be sure ... once I do get the MBP and PT11, can I move sessions back and forth between the MBP and my Windows based desktop I'm using now?
I think Albee said he does it with no problems (ie. a session I'm working on with the desktop computer in my studio, then be able to save it onto a thumbdrive or external drive of some sort, and put it over onto my MBP, and then open PT and mix on there) ... but someone else mentioned it wasn't as easy.
Any advice/thoughts on that one?

thanks again
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regular Macbook Pro vs. Macbook Pro with Retina display pzykt macOS 9 04-02-2013 08:32 AM
Experiences running Eleven Rack with a USB3 MacBook Pro or MacBook Pro Retina? Darryl Ramm Eleven Rack 3 09-18-2012 11:22 PM
Request advice on PTLE Macbook vs Macbook Pro mtbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-08-2007 08:53 AM
macbook/macbook pro buffer problems, solution therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-21-2006 04:07 PM
Davecs for Macbook or Macbook Pro running Windows? sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-16-2006 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com