Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:45 AM
BJohnston BJohnston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

I have made the upgrade from PTHD 8.0.3cs to the new 8.0.4 because I've been having issues being able to record into PT. When I arm the track and push play/record I get the spinning wheel and it takes about 1-2 full minutes before it actually starts recording. The upgrade did not fix the issue. I can open up other sessions and record just find, but it seems as though certain projects have issues. I've tried making new templates and importing the same wave files and same thing keeps happening.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

B

System Setup:
Mac Pro OSX 10.6.4
Memory: 13 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Internal HD 250 Gigs...of that I've got 30+ Gigs free
Pro Tools HD 8.0.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:55 AM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by BJohnston View Post
I can open up other sessions and record just find, but it seems as though certain projects have issues.
Have you tried using "import session data" to create a new session. Sounds like you are using import audio.
And try deactivating all your plugs and see if it still happens. (incompatible plug) Either of those will send you in a positive direction, I think.

What other troubleshooting have you done? ff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:57 AM
nanoweber nanoweber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 64
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

Setting the maximum record time (allocation) in the prefs may help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:59 AM
nanoweber nanoweber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 64
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

just realized....if you're using the boot/system drive that could be the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2010, 01:26 PM
BJohnston BJohnston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

I've tried both importing audio files and importing session data.

Not sure what you mean by boot system drive?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2010, 01:40 PM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by BJohnston View Post
I've tried both importing audio files and importing session data.

Not sure what you mean by boot system drive?
Did u do the plugin thing?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2010, 06:41 PM
BJohnston BJohnston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

I will try the plug in thing tomorrow. Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2010, 09:58 AM
BJohnston BJohnston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by formfunction View Post
Did u do the plugin thing?
I've officially tried the deactivating all plug ins. Didn't help.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2010, 10:00 AM
BJohnston BJohnston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by nanoweber View Post
Setting the maximum record time (allocation) in the prefs may help.
I checked that out as well. It is selected for Maximum Record Time. Still nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2010, 10:02 AM
drBill drBill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 348
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 8.0.4 Huge Record Mode Delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by BJohnston View Post
I checked that out as well. It is selected for Maximum Record Time. Still nothing.
Set it for 20 minutes and try again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huge delay when sending from a channel which is record enabled to an external send Thirtythr33 macOS 2 07-28-2013 01:03 PM
30 Second Delay when Hitting Record - Pro Tools Le 8.0.3 xesands macOS 11 03-24-2013 11:25 PM
Pro Tools 10/Mackie Onyx white noise in record mode benbeer macOS 3 02-21-2013 07:27 PM
Reel tape delay - HUGE cpu hog! Stiff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-02-2007 02:45 PM
Huge Delay to 5.0.1 splash screen potatohead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-11-2000 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com