Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2002, 04:19 PM
Dopamine Dopamine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 1,497
Default LCD Displays

We just got a new G4/933 with Apple 17" LCD display for PT in our A room. Problem is, a top the desk the 17 is just a tad too small. Although I love the look of the Apple, we're considering replacing it with another, larger LCD. The Cinema display would be great, but our budget can't quite afford that. Anyone recommend anything 19"+ and less than $1500?
__________________
http://www.phuturetrax.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2002, 05:04 PM
MattiMattMatt MattiMattMatt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 382
Default Re: LCD Displays

Yes --

Formac. They just came out with one around 20" and much less $$$ than Apple's. Good specs and rep.

-M.M.M.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2002, 12:03 AM
buvaudio buvaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gardner, Il. U.S.
Posts: 100
Default Re: LCD Displays

I got a 19" Gem LCD from Fry's for $900.00 and it looks great.

James
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2002, 12:16 AM
mishmash mishmash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20
Default Re: LCD Displays

Just to let you all know, flat panels using the VGA output of the mac rather than the apple digital really do not look anywhere near as sharp.
It really is a big difference!

mesh
__________________
Mesh
www.songzu.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2002, 03:01 AM
Allan Speers Allan Speers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: LCD Displays

Mishmash, while that is true, you just need an inexpensive ADC-to-DVI adapter (from Geffen, among others) to run them true digital.

The formac 17" is far superior to the Apple 17", so I'm very glad to hear they have a 19". Two of those side-by-side could be nicer than a 22" Apple, and probably for the same price.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2002, 05:23 AM
Vinylizor Vinylizor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 104
Default Re: LCD Displays

Samsung have just halved the price of their 24" LCD. Here in the UK it's now £1800 - £800 less than apples 23". It has both DVI and analog inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2002, 06:06 AM
Ray Campbell Ray Campbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 422
Default Re: LCD Displays

I picked up a Viewsonic VG191 19" in black. The price has been dropping lately. You should easily be able to pick one up for less than $US1K.

It has both analog and digital inputs. I used it for a while on the analog input before I got my new Mac, and IMO looks just as good analog or digital.

[img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] Ray
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2002, 09:10 AM
Fokke van Saane Fokke van Saane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 474
Default Re: LCD Displays

remember that ADC and DVI cannot be extended over a total length of 4.5meters without expensive boxes like Gefen makes.

I have two EIZO screens with 5 meter VGA cable. They are OK. Not as sharp as a cinema display on ADC, but cool on my desk and very easily to move since it is possible to use it without the stand.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2002, 09:55 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: LCD Displays

why not use 2 monitors? we have an apple 17" (ADC) and a NEC 18" (VGA) which has 2 VGA inputs - so it can switch between being a windows monitor or mac (right on the panel).

it's not quite as perfect looking as ADC, but not bad for normal use.

the flexibility makes it worthwhile.

jr
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2002, 10:56 AM
nwilson@hns.com nwilson@hns.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Diego
Posts: 345
Default Re: LCD Displays

I've used a SGI super wide mode for a few years.. Got used to digital (and the wide resolution 1600 x 1000).. I debated the apple 22 and 23 for some time, kinda hat spending the big $$'s on something that doesn't advance my sound..

I picked up a NEC 18" (vga) on ebay for $650, and I'm running that with the SGI for now... The SGI needs it's PCI formac card, which I hear can be a problem on G4's with AGP video cards running with PCI video cards (in PT HD), but I haven't seen a hit yet...

I was a bit concerned about sharness of the VGA, but after making a few focus and sharpness adjustments, it looks good enough. I can live with VGA... In fact, I would be fine running 2 NEC 18's on twin card (one running of the vga port, and other running with a ADC to vga adapter)... but what I'm not sure I can live with is the resolution of 1280x1024... I got use to having the 1600 wide resolution which give more edit window space. With 1280, I feel like I only have a view of a couple bars... Sure I can zoom in and out, but it seems like I was doing less when in 1600 mode..

So, I'm still undecided on going 2 18's and living with 1280 wide, or staying in my current mode of a SGI 1600 for the edit window, and the NEC 18 for mixer (and hope that the PCI video card issues don't crop up), or sell it all and go for 22" or 23"..... Wish I had them all in front of me to try out....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 display, 2 displays ..3 displays? what would you DHG MUSIC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 10-23-2006 08:59 AM
LCD TV displays lcovemusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-15-2004 10:33 PM
Two displays? metaltim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-31-2003 12:46 AM
2 Displays Greene Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-14-2003 12:36 AM
Mac displays and PCs karlp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-20-2001 02:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com