Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-21-2009, 10:45 AM
Paul S-Tone Paul S-Tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ITA
Posts: 126
Default Re: Dimension of the PCIe HD|Accel Cards

yep , 12 inch or 311.83 mm .
__________________
MacPro PTHD 3 PCIe
Protools Lovers
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-21-2009, 11:45 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Dimension of the PCIe HD|Accel Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
PCIe is a standardized format, so here's a page on dimensions:

http://www.interfacebus.com/PCIe_Card_Dimensions.html

(found by searching Google for PCIe card dimensions)
Well yes, but what if I wanted to find the information here? on the manufacturers website? Say starting someplace logical like the PT compatibility pages....

I spent a hour or so trying to find whatever PDF I had seen the card dimensions in a month or two ago and was unable to find it again.

Google's our friend-but having the info easily accessible from somewhere in the compatibility pages would be good too.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-21-2009, 12:40 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,590
Default Re: Dimension of the PCIe HD|Accel Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Well yes, but what if I wanted to find the information here? on the manufacturers website? Say starting someplace logical like the PT compatibility pages....

I spent a hour or so trying to find whatever PDF I had seen the card dimensions in a month or two ago and was unable to find it again.

Google's our friend-but having the info easily accessible from somewhere in the compatibility pages would be good too.
I could see publishing dimension info for something that's not a standard, but in this case I think it's redundant.

But hey - that's just me.

I'll see what I can do about getting this info added to our docs.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-21-2009, 04:12 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Dimension of the PCIe HD|Accel Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
I could see publishing dimension info for something that's not a standard, but in this case I think it's redundant.

But hey - that's just me.

I'll see what I can do about getting this info added to our docs.
The length question has come up a few times. It's already in one of the docs-its just a matter of finding which one.

Frankly its more of a "HD on Windows" question since the cards are pretty much guaranteed to fit into a Mac Pro/G5. ATX, Extended ATX, BTX, Server form falters and their respective cases all vary.

I dont know about redundant but full size PCIe and PCI cards are very rare outside the dedicated server market and HD cards are about the only time your average person is going to handle a card in a form factor this large. It's not a common size card and people do have questions about the size.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-23-2009, 12:53 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: Dimension of the PCIe HD|Accel Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
PCIe is a standardized format, so here's a page on dimensions:

http://www.interfacebus.com/PCIe_Card_Dimensions.html

(found by searching Google for PCIe card dimensions)
I have this link lol. Funny. So I am assuming that I use the Long Card length spec DigiTech?
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thesoundgroup/
Ideascale Profile: http://protools.ideascale.com/a/pmd/24503-3779

Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/003R/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-26-2010, 07:20 PM
daveq daveq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 114
Default Re: Dimension of the PCIe HD|Accel Cards

What pin connection type do the PCIe cards use?
There are 4x, 8x and 16x slots on some boards?
__________________
daveq
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-26-2010, 07:22 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Dimension of the PCIe HD|Accel Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveq View Post
What pin connection type do the PCIe cards use?
There are 4x, 8x and 16x slots on some boards?
Pretty sure they are 1x
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accel Cards next to other PCIe Audio Cards in the same Mac Pro for PT 10+11? relaxo Pro Tools 11 11 05-13-2018 02:01 PM
Are all pcie cord cards, accel cards? fourthtunz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-20-2011 08:41 AM
Apogee Symphony vs HD PCIe Accel cards DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 10-13-2010 08:06 AM
Mixing PCIe and PCI accel cards BilboMcP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 11-27-2009 04:49 AM
PCIE Core/Accel cards? Durka Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-15-2006 06:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com