Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2004, 12:19 PM
Ciaran Ciaran is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 45
Default Optimizing a G4 or G5 for Pro-Tools HD

Hi,
I've been running Pro-Tools HD on OS9 on my G4 867 for quite some time now, and I'm due an upgrade. However, I'm getting conflicting views from techs at the stores on what is best for me.

"The OS and drive set-up scenario. "

It was suggested by a enlightened tech at a post-production facility that I should have 3 internal drives - on the first have an 80Gig partition where I install the OS (I'm planning on going to OSX), on the second have an 80-250Gig partition where I install my applications and have a third internal drive for streaming audio samples for my Spectrasonics plug-ins for example.

The concept is two fold - it is supposed to be faster, and secondly if something goes wrong I can always re-install my OS and be ready to roll again no time.

Please understand, none of the above or what I am continuing to write is anything more than someones advice, and I haven't tried it yet, so I encourage you to give your knowledge and opinions on the matter so we can have an ultimate solution set!

So....The discussion I had on the drive set-up scenario becomes strange if it is for a G5, seeing as the machine is only set up to hold 2 internal drives! Which leads me on too the guys at the computer store... One tech gave me a carbon copy opinion of the one I have just shared from the guy at the post facility. The other tech at the same place was a polar opposite. He said 'Panther' HATES partitions and I should avoid them... he also said there was no speed benefit to having your applications running on one drive and the OS on another.

Any other advice out there?

yours in Music

C.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2004, 12:35 PM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Default Re: Optimizing a G4 or G5 for Pro-Tools HD

I don't understand what you will gain by having your applications on a separate drive. I don't know a lot about OS-X's file system or how the core OS handles disk I/O, but a separate drive for OS-X + Apps and a separate drive for Audio should do just fine. If you're using some kind of streaming sample-player, I'd suggests having the samples on a different drive too. Same thing if you're running video in your sessions.

Given todays price on disc drives, I'd buy a extra drive and use something like Carbon Copy Cloner to make a image of your startup disk. Absolute fastest and safest way to recover from OS faults or drive faults.

These assumptions are based on my experience rather than expert technical insight in OS-X core code, so take it for what it's worth...

Stein Tore
__________________
Stein Tore Sønsteli
Studio at home: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018 (HDN), Mac Pro 5.1 OS X High Sierra, Avid I/O's, D-Command ES 8-fader.
Studio at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018 (HDX-1), Mac Mini 2018 OS X Mojave, RedNet/Dante I/O's, S6 24-fader.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimizing the PC system for Pro Tools LE karkkola 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 02-11-2010 12:14 PM
Optimizing OS X for Pro Tools? JonesH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-14-2008 07:45 AM
Optimizing Mac OS for Pro Tools LE? kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-25-2008 12:41 PM
Optimizing Windows XP installation for Pro Tools? Doctor M 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-08-2006 01:25 PM
Optimizing my Mac for Pro Tools? tobor is king 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-06-2005 01:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com