Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-20-2014, 06:05 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Just keep in mind TDub, if you're going to 'take the plunge' and spend on PT11. Depending on your needs, but you can purchase the Avid Eleven Rack that comes with PT10/11 for the same price as PT10/11. Even if you don't need the interface, or play guitar, you can always sell the Eleven rack to offset the cost.

Don't make the same mistake I made, two years later and I still regret not coming on here first to ask questions.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-20-2014, 06:25 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,721
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Good advice from Dr. DAW there if you need a good interface, you can find that bundle for as little as 600-650 USD and you get the PT11/10 combo aswell as a much appreciated interface and integration into PT that works great with Mavericks now

If you only get the software it is still a combo license PT10/11 for $699 you will be able to go between PC and Mac no issues what I know of. Albee said it and others here jump from studio to studio (as do we) and some have PC and some Mac so just make sure you get all the files when you transfer from computer to thumb drive to the next computer, sometimes people forget some files and have to go back and re-transfer.

So yes, if you get the i7 8GB MBP retina Mac you will be setup for a while as those little buggers are really powerful with PT. We have 2 MBP retina mid 2013, one with 8GB 256 GB SSD and the other 16 GB 512 GB SSD but honestly we have not yet run out of power with any of them. We use those in our pre production room and they are great with PT11HD. We just got the new Mac Pro trashcan in the bigger room and yea, it smokes most of the macs we have tried but the macbooks are still holding their own so good on you for rethinking and getting the "right Macbook" from the get-go

Good luck and we are here to help. All of us and the community have lots of great members with extensive knowledge in both Windows and OSX so you are at the right place

Christopher

NOTE : as "regular" Pro Tools 11 is transferable you can get a copy for less than 400 dollars both here in the buy and sell and on ebay if money is tight!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-20-2014, 06:53 PM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

If you're buying new, max the RAM to 16GB. You're stuck forever with 8GB if you don't...

MacBook Pro with Retina display comes with 8GB of 1600MHz memory as standard. Please note that the memory is built into the computer, so if you think you may need more memory in the future, it is important to upgrade at the time of purchase.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-20-2014, 07:14 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Hey DrDaw, that's great. But I'm seeing the Eleven Rack and PT for $1700! https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...AR-DG-ELVNR-02

Where do you see it bundled with PT11 for half that price?

thanks
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-20-2014, 07:27 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,721
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDub View Post
Hey DrDaw, that's great. But I'm seeing the Eleven Rack and PT for $1700! https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...AR-DG-ELVNR-02

Where do you see it bundled with PT11 for half that price?

thanks
Here you are:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ls_Eleven.html

This stire is great and trustworthy. Lots of people here buy from B&H so no worries there. Great price with PT11/10 and the Eleven rack

$599 and that includes both software and hardware. Ilok 2 included aswell as the Expansion Pack for Eleven Rack. WOW!

Best Regards
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-20-2014, 08:46 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Holy crap, that's a sweet deal! Will cost bit more shipping to Canada, but still should be good price! Thanks for that guys!
Well, time to go spend some $$'s

Thank all of you so much, huge huge help!

Trevor
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-21-2014, 04:09 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

TDub,

It's not as cheap as buying in the states, but you'll find the shipping will eat you alive. Check this out:

http://www.long-mcquade.com/16717/Gu...ro_Tools_9.htm

Call the closest L & M and see if they have one or can get one. It's listed as coming with PT9, but that shouldn't be the case any longer. You should be able to get it for that price with PT11, and shipping is generally free on orders over $100. May have to pay an over weight charge.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-21-2014, 05:33 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Macbook Pro?

Can't tell for sure if you've bought the new MacBook Pro yet, but some things to consider.

First off I looked it up after posting this and see you are looking at the 13" models. The following applies mostly to the 15" models. And I would highly recommend you get a 15" if at all possible. As I mention later, they now have quad-core processors. That and the bigger screen makes it a no brainer IMO. Even if you have to by a slightly older used one. Just make sure it's a 2011 or newer model with thunderbolt and a quad-core processor. Back to my points lol.

Most importantly. The new MacBook retinas have their ram soldered to the motherboard. So you can't upgrade it. So get as much as you can. Same can be said for processors. It's more painful now, but can lead to a much longer usage life of the system.

I'm assuming by your description, the model you have now is a 2010 or older. This have dual-core processors. And are 2-3 generations behind the current ones. Which are quad-core (15" models only, 13" models are still dual-core). So twice the cores and a couple of generations of improvements, and these new MacBook Pro retinas are much much more powerful than the older ones. Even if they both have "i7" processors.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-30-2014, 02:38 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Quick update/question: Got the MBP ... very happy ... very nice. I will still have to go and get the Eleven rack with pt11 ... but for mobility sake, I was hoping to be able to even plug my old mbox into the MBP if ever want to just record track or two on the road. That possible?
Also, if I understand correctly, with PT11, I no longer have to have hardware connected to be able to open and mix my sessions, is that correct?

thanks all!
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-30-2014, 02:49 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default Re: Macbook Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDub View Post
. but for mobility sake, I was hoping to be able to even plug my old mbox into the MBP if ever want to just record track or two on the road. That possible?
You need to search the site for compatability info for PT11. Basically is the mbox2pro compatable with PT11 and 10.9 OSX


Quote:
Originally Posted by TDub View Post
Also, if I understand correctly, with PT11, I no longer have to have hardware connected to be able to open and mix my sessions, is that correct?



thanks all!

Yes that's correct
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regular Macbook Pro vs. Macbook Pro with Retina display pzykt macOS 9 04-02-2013 08:32 AM
Experiences running Eleven Rack with a USB3 MacBook Pro or MacBook Pro Retina? Darryl Ramm Eleven Rack 3 09-18-2012 11:22 PM
Request advice on PTLE Macbook vs Macbook Pro mtbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-08-2007 08:53 AM
macbook/macbook pro buffer problems, solution therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-21-2006 04:07 PM
Davecs for Macbook or Macbook Pro running Windows? sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-16-2006 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com