Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2014, 07:24 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

Hey everyone,
I searched the DUC with some key words, but not finding an answer. Wondering if pt sessions/files are interchangeable from PC to MAC (and vice versa).

So if I record a session on my PC on an external hard drive ... then plug the harddrive into a MAC (with a PT setup), is it seamless?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

T
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2014, 07:57 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,028
Default Re: PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

Yes, it is seamless as long as you are moving between versions with the same Pro Tools session file extension. The exception being that the same plugins aren't on both setups. Also wrapped plugins on one don't translate to the other.

If you have to move between file generations moving from older to newer is easy, but to move from newer to older, you have to save the session in the newer version as a backward compatible older session format.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2014, 07:09 AM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

Thanks Jimmy.
So you are saying if I am running PT8 on both machines ... I have a session/song I've been working on with all of its associated files on an external harddrive, and plug it into the iMac ... it should load up no problem.

Don't understand the part about the plug ins though. If I have PT 8 on both, with all of the same plug ins available ... why would those not work?

Also, I have no idea what "wrapped plugins" are :)

Any clarification would be great.
Thanks for responding!
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2014, 08:46 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

I have transferred sessions between Mac systems(HD systems) and my PC(running LE8, or HD10 software) without issue. Any plugins that are not available will simply be made inactive(you can leave them in place, or delete, add new plugins before/after the inactive ones....no problem
). "Wrapper" refers to a plugin that "hosts" another plugin. In PT, a "wrapper" allows you to use a VST plugin(normally NOT compatible with Pro Tools) via the wrapper plugin. Fxpansion makes a very popular wrapper for PT(that is its only function) and there are some other plugins that do double duty, like BlueCat Audio's MB7(its a multi-band limiter that can also host(or wrap) 1 or 2 VST plugins
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 06-26-2014 at 11:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2014, 04:09 AM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

Thanks Albee! I get the iMac this weekend, so excited to try it out!

Appreciate it
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2014, 08:56 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

if that is a new iMac 8 will not work on it
also you will need to think about drive compatibility Mac is HFS+, Windows is NTFS
8 includes an app to let Pro Tools use HFS+ on Windows via Firewire
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2014, 09:58 AM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

Hi Craig,
Its not brand new it is a 2012. Where can i see for certain if it will work?

Also, I continue to be confused as you are saying the file formats are NOT compatible ... but others are saying it is seamless.

Not sure anymore.

appreciate the replies though
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2014, 10:40 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

I don't remember all the OS's the Read Mes should have them
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...d/en355241#PT8
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-26-2014, 03:56 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: PT Files from PC session work on MAC?

Cool, I will take a look.
Thanks again Craig and everyone for the replies.

(may have another dumb question or two next week once I receive the iMac )

Thanks as always
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Files Moved or Removed from Session after Saving Session Copy for Protools 9 doubtful guest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-06-2013 03:42 AM
End of Stream Reached - session broken - import session data does not work... Sean Russell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-15-2010 04:56 PM
Converting old OS 9.2.2 session files to work on Intel. Any help appreciated Beattraffiker General Discussion 4 05-04-2009 10:12 PM
Problem with session Files named Unix executable files, ???? carlos1dskd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-16-2007 02:59 AM
Saving session files/Trashing audio files digigirly Tips & Tricks 2 02-08-2002 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com