Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2020, 01:15 PM
leomartins leomartins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Brasil
Posts: 15
Default S1 recommended router

Hi, i am looking for recommended routers for a system that will contain one dock, two s1's, with 3 ipads.

The recommended router by the avid control guide is the TP-Link AC5400.


But I was also wondering if the D-Link EXO Smart Mesh AC3000 works well for my configuration.
https://www.dlink.com.br/produto/rot...fi-smart-mesh/

And also, if there is anybody who works with s1(s) and ipad(s) working well, please let me know which router you are using! Thank you very much !!

Leo Biderman Martins


Config: Pro Tools Ultimate; Macos Mojave; i9 3.6GHz; 32 GB RAM; Graphics Radeon RX 580; Audio HDx 2; OMNI; (2x) S1's; 1 Pro Tools Dock; (3x) Ipads 7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2020, 02:33 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,765
Default Re: S1 recommended router

I dont see why it wouldnt. Looks good.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2020, 05:46 AM
RichR RichR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 14
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Hi. I recently got this- TP-Link Archer C6 AC1200 MU-MIMO router and its been flawless. I have 3 S1s with Amazon HD10s and a dock with an iPad Pro. Couldn't be happier with this setup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2020, 11:03 AM
leomartins leomartins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Brasil
Posts: 15
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
I dont see why it wouldnt. Looks good.
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2020, 11:09 AM
leomartins leomartins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Brasil
Posts: 15
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichR View Post
Hi. I recently got this- TP-Link Archer C6 AC1200 MU-MIMO router and its been flawless. I have 3 S1s with Amazon HD10s and a dock with an iPad Pro. Couldn't be happier with this setup.
Thank you very much for share your setup RichR!
I was afraid that a dual band router would not be enough for my setup with a dock, two s1 and 3 ipads ...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2020, 12:21 PM
leomartins leomartins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Brasil
Posts: 15
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichR View Post
Hi. I recently got this- TP-Link Archer C6 AC1200 MU-MIMO router and its been flawless. I have 3 S1s with Amazon HD10s and a dock with an iPad Pro. Couldn't be happier with this setup.
Just one more question, Do you work with music? Or with cinema? Or other?
Thanks very much again!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2020, 03:33 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,723
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Look forward to hearing your results after you get things set up, and thanks RichR for sharing your info.

S1 and Dock here on an Apple Time Capsule 2TB (working fine but I should probably replace it in the not too distant future!). iPad Pro and Samsung Galaxy Tab A along with iMac (HD Native Thunderbolt) and Mac Mini (Eleven Rack) all WiFi. I open EuControl on the computer I'm currently running Pro Tools on.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-2020, 03:29 AM
RichR RichR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London
Posts: 14
Default Re: S1 recommended router

I work on music exclusively
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2020, 05:41 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 227
Default Re: S1 recommended router

I'm really liking my Dock and S1, however, I have an Apple Airport Express 802.11n Router and noticed as much as a 2 second latency between functions for the Dock and my S1. This can't be normal.

Is my router outdated? I'm not running anything else with it. It did the same with my Artist Control. What do you guys think?
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2020, 09:36 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,765
Default Re: S1 recommended router

Quote:
Originally Posted by firmflange View Post
I'm really liking my Dock and S1, however, I have an Apple Airport Express 802.11n Router and noticed as much as a 2 second latency between functions for the Dock and my S1. This can't be normal.

Is my router outdated? I'm not running anything else with it. It did the same with my Artist Control. What do you guys think?
No, that's not right. How are you connecting the Dock, S1 and Mac to the router...it only has 2 ports if I remember?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Router, Hub, Switch? pasanta Artist Series 1 08-02-2019 12:22 PM
What router are you guys using? JCBigler Artist Series 6 12-16-2018 04:48 PM
Which router? Shatzer Artist Series 3 08-09-2015 11:26 AM
Mix on Mac: Only Router as Workstation ??? peterle Artist Series 1 12-16-2012 09:11 AM
looking for a router baadc0de Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 05-10-2006 11:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com