Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2020, 11:02 AM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 340
Default Trim mode disagreement

Sometimes the Trim Light on the dock and the trim status of the focused track in Pro Tools disagree. I cannot find a consistent set of steps to reproduce...
also I can't tell if it's the actual trim modes disagreeing between PT and Eucon... or just the light not working...

Happening for anyone else?
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2020, 11:42 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,775
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

What do you have this setting set to: Dock Automation Mode Buttons Follow Attention Track
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2020, 06:04 AM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 340
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
What do you have this setting set to: Dock Automation Mode Buttons Follow Attention Track
It is on, and functions as it should... I'd say 97% of the time... just occasionally disagrees. I press 3 times and they get back in sync. I'm going to pay more attention next time to see if I can get a more solid diagnosis for you.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2020, 12:37 PM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 340
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

... Still can't reproduce reliably...

but more info.

- The indicator on the track in protools, and the trim mode light on Eucon agree that trim mode is off.
- The track functions like trim mode is off.
- The yellow "trim line" on the volume automation track is showing. Which it should NOT be.

If I toggle trim mode on/off on either the track or the control surface the yellow line goes away and it functions normally.

So might not be a Eucon issue at all... could be a "yellow trim line" issue.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2020, 12:45 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,775
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

What version of PT is this ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2020, 04:15 PM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 340
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

pt 2020.5
latest eucon... 20.6.1?
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-2020, 11:44 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,775
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

I think you must have Coalese Trim turned off? You are seeing that theres still a Trim value thats not merged.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-2020, 05:20 AM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 340
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

nope. Coalesce after every pass
and it's a straight yellow line.

Next time it does it I'll try to make a video.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-2020, 01:58 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,768
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding, but I'm not sure there's a problem here; It's perfectly possible to display trim automation even if the fader is not in trim - just toggling through display modes (ctl-cmd-left/right arrow) will show you the trim line regardless of automation status.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2020 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.

Last edited by Rich Breen; 08-07-2020 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-07-2020, 05:28 PM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 340
Default Re: Trim mode disagreement

Ah. good thought, but my explanation wasn't super clear.

It's not the volume trim view... this is still in the volume automation view... shows the straight yellow line as if in trim..., but isn't really

(recreation attached)
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 8.27.51 PM.png (9.3 KB, 0 views)
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S1 trim mode Norad155 Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 14 09-23-2020 09:26 PM
Is there a preference that when in Trim mode, trim doesn't apply to sends? bassmagnetic Post - Surround - Video 2 12-19-2019 07:55 AM
S3 bug: track exits trim mode after writing send automation in preview mode yoerik roevens Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 4 06-27-2017 10:38 PM
Where did the Trim Mode go in PT 10? Imbie Pro Tools 10 1 09-19-2012 09:56 AM
trim mode on sends? tomlowd ICON & C|24 3 06-26-2007 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com