Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2019, 01:42 PM
Fernando Antunes Fernando Antunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: MG, Brazil
Posts: 7
Default Too much GPU usage

I noticed that Pro Tools is using too much GPU on my mac, but almost no CPU or RAM while recording. Sometimes it crashes and constantly overheating.

I'm using Pro Tools 12.7.0, recording at 48kHz - 24 bit
Buffer Size: 64 samples or 512 samples - same problem

MacBook Pro
CPU: 2,6 GHz Intel Core i7
RAM: 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
GPU: Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB


Last edited by Fernando Antunes; 01-09-2019 at 01:45 PM. Reason: resize image
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2019, 02:14 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,066
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

What specific MacBookPro do you have?
What specific OSX do you have?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2019, 03:07 PM
Fernando Antunes Fernando Antunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: MG, Brazil
Posts: 7
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

Oh, I forgot to mention

OS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)

Sorry about that!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2019, 05:49 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,066
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando Antunes View Post
Oh, I forgot to mention

OS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)

Sorry about that!
Not a problem.

Have you done any recording in Garageband? If so how did that work out? If not can you try that? What I'm looking for is there something possibly wrong with the computer that any program could make it do what you're seeing?

What audio interface are you using? Is it bus powered? Are you running with the AC mains adapter plugged in all the time? I know when I run any laptop with that plugged in things can overheat. I seem to remember that some tie back Apple had a problem with laptop batteries overheating but your model should be over that hump.

Hope you're not using it as a laptop but at least on a desk.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2019, 06:42 PM
Fernando Antunes Fernando Antunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: MG, Brazil
Posts: 7
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

I don't have Garageband installed. I'll check it.
This GPU thing only happens when I'm recording or playing the audio.

I'm using the Apogee Quartet via USB.
I always use the macbook on a desk with the AC plugged in.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2019, 06:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,066
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando Antunes View Post
I don't have Garageband installed. I'll check it.
This GPU thing only happens when I'm recording or playing the audio.

I'm using the Apogee Quartet via USB.
I always use the macbook on a desk with the AC plugged in.
Garageband is part of a standard OSX install.
The MBP should have enough power to take care of the Quartet. With the AC adapter always plugged in you could be overcharging the battery. I lost the internal battery on an old Powerbook G4 and Toshiba Windows laptop that way.
Try this - see if you have problems playing long YouTube videos. The Mac Mini I use for Photoshop & internet work gets quite warm when playing a lot of YouTube videos.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2019, 07:34 PM
Fernando Antunes Fernando Antunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: MG, Brazil
Posts: 7
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

GPU on Garageband



Interesting, I only experience this kind of overheating while using pro tools or rendering videos. And maybe it seams to be related to GPU. I have no idea!

Thanks for the tip about the ac adapter!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2019, 10:57 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,119
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando Antunes View Post
GPU on Garageband







Interesting, I only experience this kind of overheating while using pro tools or rendering videos. And maybe it seams to be related to GPU. I have no idea!



Thanks for the tip about the ac adapter!


Is the video engine enabled in Pro Tools?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2019.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2019, 02:09 AM
rschweng rschweng is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Burbank. CA
Posts: 40
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

Have you tried opening PT in Low Resolution mode?
(Right click on PT icon and choose 'Get Info')
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2019, 12:52 PM
Fernando Antunes Fernando Antunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: MG, Brazil
Posts: 7
Default Re: Too much GPU usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by rschweng View Post
Have you tried opening PT in Low Resolution mode?
(Right click on PT icon and choose 'Get Info')
I tried to open PT in low resolution mode and it seemed to help.




Maybe this issue is related to:
1 - pro tools graphic optimization (since the garageband's graphics works fine);
2 - macbook's cooling system;

I'm wandering if an eGPU can reduce even more the heat, since the CPU and RAM are running fine with a lot of headroom.

Thank you guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real CPU Usage vs. Pro Tools System Usage Window tbonesteak4dinner Pro Tools 11 19 02-21-2019 08:04 PM
CPU usage error?! System usage 2%... pascalmowla Pro Tools 12 3 03-10-2016 12:00 PM
What would normal disk usage considered to be in the usage window? Digitopian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-08-2009 09:50 PM
Help understanding CPU Usage, RAM, Disk Usage... Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 02-03-2006 07:41 PM
HTDM not showing CPU usage in the system usage Brandonx1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 12-19-2004 09:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com