Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2010, 01:04 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,173
Default BUG: Nudge Underlying Audio/Sync Point

Maybe this has been covered before, but when you use ctrl +/- to nudge the underlying audio (while leaving the start and end the same), any sync point in the region stays in its absolute position, and doesn't move with the audio (!).

Defeats the point of using sync points...

And, yes, for the record, this is my biggest problem with PT9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2010, 01:52 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 918
Default Re: BUG: Nudge Underlying Audio/Sync Point

I don't think it ever did.
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2010, 03:03 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,173
Default Re: BUG: Nudge Underlying Audio/Sync Point

Right. I think sync points might have always behaved this way. But it still doesn't make sense.

Last edited by reichman; 12-07-2010 at 03:05 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2010, 12:42 AM
Vovique Vovique is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 145
Default Re: BUG: Nudge Underlying Audio/Sync Point

Assure you, this feature works just as intended. It just saves you a couple of mouse drags: instead of having to first move the sync point and then drag the region to align the sync point to the corresponding event, you just nudge the underlying audio using this shortcut.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2010, 05:27 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,173
Default Re: BUG: Nudge Underlying Audio/Sync Point

Vovique, I'm not sure I follow. The nudge function works fine, the issue is that if you have an existing sync point, it doesn't move with the audio. That's the problem.

This bug is especially problematic in music editing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2010, 07:33 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,810
Default Re: BUG: Nudge Underlying Audio/Sync Point

It is a region sync point. As such it is tied to the region, not to the sample. You want a sample level sync point, which PT does not do at this time.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nudge and sync point henpage Pro Tools 10 0 08-07-2012 10:26 AM
Sync point doesn't move with ctl-nudge (?!) alex weber Post - Surround - Video 1 08-14-2010 03:08 AM
Crtl-nudge and sync-point Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 3 04-09-2009 02:16 AM
Sync point doesn't move with ctl-nudge (?!) reichman Post - Surround - Video 0 11-24-2008 12:52 PM
Snap sync point to sync point? imi Tips & Tricks 3 05-25-2003 06:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com