Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2020, 03:16 PM
dg27's Avatar
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 332
Default Location of Project Cache and Sound Libraries

I have always left the Project Media Cache and Sound Libraries locations as the default, which in Windows are in the My Documents\Pro Tools folder.

I have three internal SSDs: boot, plus one where my projects are stored, and then another that has PT archives.

Would it be better for me to reconfigure the Project Media Cache and Sound Libraries locations to a drive other than the boot?
__________________
Dell Studio XPS 9100; Win 10 Pro 64X, i7 960@3.2GHz, 24 GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 512 GB SSD boot, Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB dedicated audio drive, Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB PT archive drive, 2X WD Caviar Black 2 TB storage drives, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (EVGA), 2X 24" HP Dreamcolor LP2480zx Professional Display

Pro Tools 2020.3, PreSonus 26C, PreSonus Bluetube v2, PreSonus HP4, JBL LS305 monitors, Sennheiser HD 650 headphones
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2020, 04:46 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,421
Default Re: Location of Project Cache and Sound Libraries

I wouldn’t bother since they’re installed on an SSD and it sounds like you only have stock stuff. If you need to make some space on the boot drive or you are heavily using huge libraries like EastWest, Vienna etc then by all means have a libraries drive. But for just the stuff that comes with Pro Tools, your boot drive can handle it without any issue.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2020, 04:53 PM
dg27's Avatar
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 332
Default Re: Location of Project Cache and Sound Libraries

Thank, Top Jimmy.

I just installed 2020.3 (had 12.8.3) and was going through the prefs to see if there were any changes worth making. You're right: I have stock libraries. I'll leave as is.

(My thinking was based on my heavy use of Photoshop. In Photoshop you set up scratch disks to handle the handle the cache from very large files. I wondered whether that logic would apply here.)
__________________
Dell Studio XPS 9100; Win 10 Pro 64X, i7 960@3.2GHz, 24 GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 512 GB SSD boot, Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB dedicated audio drive, Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB PT archive drive, 2X WD Caviar Black 2 TB storage drives, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (EVGA), 2X 24" HP Dreamcolor LP2480zx Professional Display

Pro Tools 2020.3, PreSonus 26C, PreSonus Bluetube v2, PreSonus HP4, JBL LS305 monitors, Sennheiser HD 650 headphones
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
projects in Project Cache folder can't be copied to another computer? BenzoSt2 Pro Tools | First Discussion 2 03-02-2020 12:25 PM
permission denied while creating project cache midnightfluff Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 10-09-2017 12:39 PM
Sound Miner and the XLS files that accompany sound libraries. Soundburst Post - Surround - Video 1 12-19-2015 09:52 PM
project location Cayotic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-30-2005 08:40 PM
Conforming a project recorded in PT on location philper Post - Surround - Video 3 02-03-2004 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com