Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2009, 11:05 PM
shytor shytor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default writing a Pro Tools plug-in

So lately I've been working with with some troublesome audio that has some digital "pops" in it due to samples being dropped during recording. While trying to test out some noise reduction and click removal plug-ins, i found that most of those plugins lack the necessary algorithm to get rid of this problem without destroying more of the audio than I would prefer.

If I look at the sample level of the clicks, it is a one-sample flat spot, I assume due to the sample being dropped or skipped and replaced with the preceding sample's value. Therefore it leaves a flat spot, and is only really noticeable during louder sections where there are steeper waveforms.

I'm wondering first if there is already a plug-in designed specifically with this problem in mind (that doesn't cost $1000)?

Or

Does anyone know how to make a plug-ing for Pro Tools so that I can simply write my own algorithm to remove this, rather than do it manually?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2009, 10:29 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,766
Default Re: writing a Pro Tools plug-in

The Izotope plug-ins are great for this - check out the DeClicker:

http://www.izotope.com/products/audio/rx/
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2009, 11:39 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: writing a Pro Tools plug-in

I'll second RX. There's nothing at the same price that's close.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2009, 12:42 AM
tha]-[acksaw tha]-[acksaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 674
Default Re: writing a Pro Tools plug-in

All the X stuff from Waves works great when I have problems like this. Pops, clicks and buzz all removed very well. They are a bit expensive. Not a $1000 though.
__________________
www.TheSoundCoop.com
www.youtube.com/TheSoundCoop
PCAudioLabs 2.5GHz Quad-Core Q8300 FSB:1333/1066MHz, NB:IntelG33, SB:Intel ICH9DH/WinXP Pro SP3 / SATA HD's = 160GB(7200/8), 320GB (7200/16) x 2,500GB (7200/32) / 4GB DDR2-800 / FW = TI ChipSet / Gear: Apogee Rosetta800, ADL600, Avalon2022 // M-Audio = Profire Lightbridge, Octane 8's, BX5's BX8's & SBX // ProTools MP 8.0.5 w/ MPTK 2 - Velvet Waves Sonnox IK NI FXpansion Massy -- DVerb2.0 Test = 230 verbs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Writing Plug-Ins to audio? jakedavis Pro Tools 10 11 05-18-2013 12:30 AM
Writing a MIDI Plug-In Cro MIDI 3 01-05-2008 11:15 AM
Writing plug-in automation to regions....? popps Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 05-06-2007 06:54 AM
Writing plug-ins opwernby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-28-2000 02:48 PM
Plug ins for Win 98 and CD writing software NSYNC_Fan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-25-2000 06:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com