Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2011, 11:49 AM
cocamycola89 cocamycola89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Posts: 81
Default Clip gain??

How is clip gain at all different from standard vol automation? And I have heard this is much more of a post production thing... What situations might lead to clip gain being used over volume automation in a post situation and how is if faster and or more efficient?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2011, 11:58 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Clip gain??

mainly it works pre fader... before plug ins, automation and everything.

its easy to use, right on the clip (avid's new name for regions) happens in real time, its nice to visually and instantly look for quick level matching.

I used it last night and within a few minutes I see how useful it will be. I do music so I can only imagine for dialog and efx folks.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2011, 12:21 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,040
Default Re: Clip gain??

The main thing to keep in mind is that if you increase the level of your audio clip you are seriously going to change any compression dynamics that you might have going on the channel that you are working on. This fact puts a limit on the usefulness of the clip gain feature.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2011, 12:31 PM
grfaudio grfaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Clip gain??

Whether for music or for post, this feature is extremely powerful. Unless you're always recording at Full Scale or always driving your compressors hard, this feature will save hours of time. Sometimes it is the perfect way to even out dynamics without having to add in processing which might colour your instrument, not to mention eating up DSP/CPU power.... anyway, I am ecstatic as it was available in Steinberg products for years and I really miss it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjusting Clip Gain On More Than One Clip Blank Frank Pro Tools Software (Mac) 17 05-15-2015 06:34 PM
AudioSuite Gain/Normalize also on Clip Gain A-n-d-i Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 03-13-2014 12:46 PM
Export Clip With Clip Gain BobbyDazzler Pro Tools 10 0 03-03-2013 03:06 PM
Clip gain on clip groups: bug or feature? idris Post - Surround - Video 6 01-02-2013 10:48 PM
How to use X-Key on clip gain? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 6 11-01-2011 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com