Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2019, 12:13 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Pro Tools vs Reaper

This probably isn't the worst place to ask this question, or it could actually be the best.. Anyway, I've been thinking of making the switch to Reaper ever since my Annual PT Subscription lapsed and they wanted 3x the cash...so I've been stuck on version 12.4 for who knows how long.



I've also read that Reaper runs much smoother and can load more plugin instances than PT. especially when running the Acoustica Audio Aqua stuff.


Have any of you PT diehards ever tried Reaper and can make an honest comparison? I know it's gonna be a monumental pain in the ass reinstalling all my plugins as .AU files (AU is Mac and VST is windows, right?), but it might be worth it. I'm kicking myself know for only installing the AAX format of plugs.


Just curious to hear from you guys on this



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2019, 12:39 PM
oudi oudi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

hello

same for me.
i've buy reaper since 8 month.
and the migration is not easy.
For me reaper is a very good daw....everything (almost) is possible.
but a lot of configuration.
and long time to have a good configuration.but everything is customize.


i'm pro tools user since long long time ago (pt 5) for music and post production,and to be honnest the migration isn't easy.
but i can't paid every years for nothing...or just fix a thousand of bugs.


the reaper forum are very very full of some peaople who exchange.
the daw is very stable pc or mac .(mojave too ahahahhaha sorry...)


you can have your repear on a usb key and work everywhere with your conf.


to be honnest there are gaps (no aaf...for ex)but solution can be find.


sorry for my english.
best
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2019, 12:52 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,211
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

I've used Reaper. For me the work I'd have to put on the migration to another DAW does not justify the benefits (put on top that there are always disadvantages too). Maybe for someone who's starting it doesn't matter as much but I've been using PT for over 10 years.
I love Cakewalk and even though many of the basic key commands are as close as replacing ctrl for alt and things like that it takes me hours to do what in PT I can do with my eyes closed in minutes.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2019, 08:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,709
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Do you need something that is not in 12.4? If it serves your needs, there's zero reason to update(besides version jealousy)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2019, 10:05 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Do you need something that is not in 12.4? If it serves your needs, there's zero reason to update(besides version jealousy)

I've been really into the Acoustica Audio Aqua plugs lately. I've read that Reaper can run more instances, and run them much smoother.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2019, 04:46 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,300
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
I've been really into the Acoustica Audio Aqua plugs lately. I've read that Reaper can run more instances, and run them much smoother.
Acoustica's plugins are known cpu hogs no matter the daw. You have to ask yourself is it worth the hassle to learn another daw just so you can run a bunch of cpu munching plugins? To me Acoustica plugins are hype at their worst promulgated by the denizens of Gearslutz
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:38 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Acoustica's plugins are known cpu hogs no matter the daw. You have to ask yourself is it worth the hassle to learn another daw just so you can run a bunch of cpu munching plugins? To me Acoustica plugins are hype at their worst promulgated by the denizens of Gearslutz

Haha. Well I definitely agree with ya on that.. all the AA stuff is insanely hyped and as trendy as it gets. I got turned onto em by a friend (I had never even heard the name at that point) and was blown away by the sound. All the personal mixes I've done while demoing the Aqua stuff sound better than the ones without.

Also, it's not like I have to uninstall PT to try out Reaper. I can have both on my computer and then decide from there.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:56 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,893
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Do you need something that is not in 12.4? If it serves your needs, there's zero reason to update(besides version jealousy)
I try to stay current, but 12.4 was a very stable Pro Tools.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-12-2019, 08:52 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I try to stay current, but 12.4 was a very stable Pro Tools.

I have notice 12.4 being less problematic than previous versions. I periodically check the new features when an update is released, and I probably wouldn't use most of them anyways.


I don't mix professionally, I just love music; I'm definitely a musician before engineer. I love fooling around with the stuff I've written, trying to get the best sound possible, but I just don't have the attention span to stare at a computer screen for hours on end. Probably because after a while it stops being fun n feels like a choir.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-24-2019, 01:23 PM
Norbertools Norbertools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germania
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Migration from PT to Reaper is very easy. Just customize it once and you are ready. Reaper can everything do what PT does, just faster. If I didn't had so many clients with PT-sessions I would kick PT right away in the trash. Reaper is so much better in every aspect. Once you've gotten into Reapers audio editing and mixing, you'll just be annoyed by PT. Sad but true.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Reaper to Host VST VI's in Pro Tools DonaldM Tips & Tricks 15 11-16-2013 10:49 AM
HELP! Reaper > Pro Tools Issues AlexDC macOS 6 06-20-2013 08:44 AM
Pro Tools 8 theme for Reaper? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-09-2010 07:51 AM
Pro Tools to Reaper... Need some help! DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 42 03-15-2010 08:24 AM
Reaper and Pro Tools 8? jebwick General Discussion 50 09-23-2009 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com