Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 08-01-2018, 02:27 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Becharax View Post
I am running still the 2018.4 on 10.13.3 Mac and Very stable ... I am gonna stick to it for now unless there is something drastic in this release that I don't see here .... I just hope they will support the latest 10.13 release so we can update
Please understand, 10.13.4/5/6 do not ruin pro tools stability, they affect performance under 128 buffer at 44/48K, and 256 buffer at 88/96K, and 512 buffer at 192K.

I have spoken to many people who have always worked at 128 and their system works the same as ever.. but for those who need really low native buffers, it will cause cpu spikes.
This is why Avid will not officially qualify PT with it.

I have spoken to them at length about this, and they blamed apple changing something in 10.13.4, so of course I was skeptical and thought it was a "pass the buck" game, but further investigation highlighted related issues across various DAW's. As far as I know, Logic isn't affected, which makes sense.

Cubase for example, freezes when rendering, on 10.13.4/5/6, but not releases prior, and it can get bad enough that a hard shutdown is required.

Since 10.13.4 is the only common denominator.. I tend to believe Avid on this one.
Why would Apple care, as long as Logic works? Steinberg have also confirmed apple changed something, now from what I can learn, it's in both the graphics drivers *and* core audio itself..
Avid have the issue marked as absolute priority critical and are working on it every day.. and have promised it will be fixed by years' end.. What more can they do?

What avid ARE to blame for, is the 30% VI performance loss from 12.8 to 2018, on the same computer and same OS.
Just loading up 2017 now to see if it's improved anything in that department, here's hoping.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-01-2018, 03:00 AM
Tobias Eichelberg Tobias Eichelberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 335
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

For me version 2018.7 does seem to show a worse performance than .4 before. I get CPU overloads just out of nowhere in sessions both very small as well as very heavy loaded/high track counts.

So far a step backwards...but I was waiting for that "search plug-in" function for a long time - finally delivered! Also now I can enable page scrolling while recording - I've been waiting for that one for over 18 years!

Let's see if there is anything I can do to improve performance, I'll uninstall cloud client services and the app manager.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-01-2018, 03:09 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

WOW, what a *massive* performance improvement on sierra! WOW!

Over 2018.4!

WOW!

It's gone back from trailing cubase and logic in VI playback buffer performance by 30%, to eclipsing them again!

I am not moving off of 2017.7 for a long time... I wish it was the release with folder tracks, but we can't have it all can we....

I use my standardized VI Test of a 16 bar midi file looping over and over again, with the VI and midi track duplicated, to count a maximum of tracks before dropouts. It has to loop at *least* 4 times to be considered a stable result, i.e, 64 bars played.

Using my latest Patchworx and Dune 2 test, PT got 10 in 2018.4, whereas Cubase got 15 and Logic 14.

Now PT is at 16.. I mean that's a massive difference, and all cores are evenly spread out and hitting 90% real cpu each (using istat and activity monitor). The other DAW's can only get real usage to about 79 maybe 80%.. so once again pro tools wins, just like 12.8.1 did.

I am very happy with that.

Thanks Avid. :)
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-01-2018, 03:21 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,721
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

TNM :

If you are running some version called 2017.7 you are a year behind
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-01-2018, 03:42 AM
Basstian Basstian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 290
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Very good performance here as well.

no problem to run pretty heavy TV sessions (many Izotope and other realtime cleaning Plugs plus true peak limiting and dynamic eqs, comps etc.) even at 32 samples buffer.

that was impossible in previous versions.
__________________
Mac Pro 3,7 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon E5
Mac OS 10.14
ProTools Ultimate 2018.12
Video Slave 3.4
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-01-2018, 04:55 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
TNM :

If you are running some version called 2017.7 you are a year behind
And now when i just bought a windows machine too LOL...

But yeah, typo of course

__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-01-2018, 05:58 AM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 694
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

I’m not getting buffer errors at all anymore at low counts.... just testing with the demo at present as I haven’t had time to start creating, except for a few of minor sessions to setup some chanel presets and such. I was getting buffer errors running the demo at 256 now I can run at 32. Seem pretty rock solid here with the latest High Sierra 10.13.6.

I don’t plan on doing any more mOS updates until I really need to. In fact now that I have it running nice with the lasted updates might be time to copy/mirror/backup the disk.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-01-2018, 06:54 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,721
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
And now when i just bought a windows machine too LOL...

But yeah, typo of course

LOL

I knew it was a typo, just busting your chain a bit in a playful way my friend

Regarding the PC purchase you made yesterday, please let me know how it runs with PT as the first time in 17 years I am looking to buy a PC aswell and looking at your extensive research I will look at as similar specs as I can get to yours if you get good vibes and of course performance for the money. I think that 1800 Aud is a very very good price for that unit and as you said in above posts, it has an all in one purpose and can be used for more than just a DAW

Thank You for all the research and testing you do for everyone here! Much appreciated and welcomed
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-01-2018, 07:21 AM
skizzo skizzo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 83
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
If anyone is interested, it took a lot of searching, but a kind soul at steinberg forums gave me 10.13.2 full installer. I had located one previously here, but the mac wouldn't open it as said it wasn't a signed file (naughty naughty uploader). This one is 100% legit and works.

I am happy to upload it to my dropbox for a while (just a free account) if anyone needs it, i have tested it, works perfectly, sierra recognizes is as the legit installer, no warning pop ups.

it will take me ages due to 2.5 mb/s upload so give me a day I guess.. if you really want it let me know and i'll start uploading now! This will work on any imac pro as imac pro's first came with 10.13.2 :) Then you would just need the 10.13.3 imac pro specific update and you'll have the best high sierra DAW experience possible.
There are unofficial (as in someone uploaded to a file share site like dropbox) available downloads out and about of the original High Sierra release too. As in the full installer for 10.13. I just got it in the last week and it worked fine.

I liked getting the original release because now I can update to any point release I want, and those ARE available officially through Apple. Unfortunately for me though, going to an earlier OS version did not solve my particular CPU spike issue. I will update to 2018.7 and see if either 10.13.3 or 10.13.6 rids me of the issue. If not, I will have to check and see if 2018.3 had the problem
__________________
Mac Pro '09 - 5,1 - Dual Hex Core X5680 3.33 ghz CPU - 48GB RAM
970EVO 500GB (10.13.6) - 1TB WD Black HDD (Samples) - 6TB Toshiba HDD (Backups) - 500GB Glyph GT050Q (Legacy sessions & backups) - 3TB Glyph Studio (Main audio/sessions)
HD5770 GPU

OSX 10.13.6 - Pro Tools 2018.12 - Presonus Studio 192 / Digi 003 Rack+
Focusrite Clarett OctoPre - AKG HPE6 - DBX160A - WA76
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-01-2018, 07:43 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 85
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

I have to report that 2018.7 performs better than 2018.4 on my system so far.
Feels solid since yesterday that i made the update, had no issues so far.
About the new features, are very welcome but the list is too short...did i say short?
There should be the Track Folders and a Plugin Manager at least in that release, IMO.
Anyway....I will update my annual plan in September, in hope that things will move a bit faster than every 4 month updates, as happens now and more substantial features like ARA support...

Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 10.13.5 - will PT 2018.4 or .5 work well or stay with 2018.13? blankpro Pro Tools 2018 4 07-11-2018 07:22 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1 jamesleonard Pro Tools 2018 11 03-12-2018 05:21 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com