Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2017, 07:38 PM
AndyMVP AndyMVP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 34
Default Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

Hi legends,

Please pardon the ctrl-v from the software forum, but I thought I might get different eyeballs here:

It's a topic that gets covered intermittently, but I can't see much up-to-date info about it - laptops!

My old HP Pavilion DV7 circa 2011 (nicknamed Old Wheezy) really doesn't want to take work trips with me any more and I think it's time for a new model. (When I'm in my studio I'm on an X99 system that hums along nicely.)

I mainly edit radio shows, podcasts, commercials and voice overs. Something fairly gutsy and relatively able to hold up for a few years would be nice.

I'd rather stay in PC-land if possible too - so recommendations other than MacBook Pros would be super. I read a thread from April of a DUC user happy with a Asus lappy but.. Any suggestions welcome!
__________________
ASUS X99-A II Mobo - i7 6800K CPU - 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2400MHz DDR4 RAM - Samsung 840 Pro SSD - Sapphire Nitro Radeon RX 460 4GB - Windows 10 Pro - Audient iD14 - Pro Tools 12.8.2 - Euphonix MC Transport - HP Pavilion DV7 - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
andymaher.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2017, 10:05 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,611
Default Re: Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

Cheaper than ASUS:

Look for a used Lenovo Quad Core W520 – like this eBay example (I am not the Seller!)
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lenovo-w520...EAAOSwAaJaPFHW
Win 10/24 GB RAM/256 GB SSD/Dock

My Quad Core Lenovo W520 427637U - Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit/2nd Gen Intel Core i7 Sandy Bridge - 2720QM 2.2GHz/16 GB DDR3 - SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard -13 Devices connected to laptop (excluding Printers & Faxes) with 433830U Dock - up to 3 Screens -
cost almost US $1650 including Postage back in 2011.

Found a 2nd W520 a couple of months ago on eBay - Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit/2nd Gen Intel Core i7 Sandy Bridge + Microsoft Office 2010 Professional Plus – for US $199 + US$45 Freight.
Does the job.

Bear in mind EOL date for Pro Tools/Win7 support – if that matters to you.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2017, 08:46 PM
AndyMVP AndyMVP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

Cheers mate. I should have mentioned I'd rather something with a 17" screen. A numeric keypad would be important too with the way I use PT.

Good point about going second hand though, sounds silly but I hadn't thought of it.
__________________
ASUS X99-A II Mobo - i7 6800K CPU - 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2400MHz DDR4 RAM - Samsung 840 Pro SSD - Sapphire Nitro Radeon RX 460 4GB - Windows 10 Pro - Audient iD14 - Pro Tools 12.8.2 - Euphonix MC Transport - HP Pavilion DV7 - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
andymaher.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2017, 10:08 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,611
Default Re: Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyMVP View Post
.... I'd rather something with a 17" screen. A numeric keypad would be important too with the way I use PT.
With my Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (427637U) & 433830U Dock, I can have up to 3 Screens - I'm happy with 2 for now.

The laptop's 15.6 inch and the monitor's 21 inch - good enough for now.

I also use a corded numeric keypad and mouse - I rarely touch the laptop, apart from the ON button.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (427637U) & 433830U Dock.jpg (53.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2017, 09:13 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,608
Default Re: Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyMVP View Post
... I'd rather stay in PC-land if possible ...
How about a brand-new 2017 (64GB RAM/2TB internal SSD/Xeon/Thunderbolt 3) Lenovo Thinkpad P51 Mobile Workstation?
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link

Last edited by EGS; 12-29-2017 at 02:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2017, 09:17 AM
taylor4814 taylor4814 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 362
Default Re: Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

ADK Pro Audio
https://www.adkproaudio.com/music-production-laptops
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2017, 10:22 AM
Neil H Neil H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 193
Default Re: Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

I currently run a Gigabyte P35 and it's not quite time for me to upgrade yet but I do spend a lot of time pouring over viable laptops for Pro Tools and what I have now is faultless, if I were going to be upgrading now I'd be putting my money into a new Gigabyte Aero 15

https://www.gigabyte.com/Laptop/AERO-15X#kf

I wouldn't be putting money anywhere near those horrible Clevo plastic lumps that some companies still insist on peddling.

I'd absolutely recommended making sure you get equipped with Thunderbolt 3 just to give you more connectivity options even if it's just to give you more USB3/3.1 bandwidth connectivity for audio interfaces, external hard drives, peripherals and even firewire.

Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5 Ultimate
Windows 10 Pro

Join the Facebook Pro Tools Windows User Group
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2018, 12:40 AM
AndyMVP AndyMVP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

Those Gigabyte machines do look nice. Shame there's no 17" Aero. The Sabres and P series look good too.

Given that I typically only record one voice track into Pro Tools at a time (so signal flow is mono in > mixmixtinkertinkermixmix > stereo out) I'm not sure I'd need the data transfer speeds of Thunderbolt for my drives or interfaces - or am I overlooking something?
__________________
ASUS X99-A II Mobo - i7 6800K CPU - 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2400MHz DDR4 RAM - Samsung 840 Pro SSD - Sapphire Nitro Radeon RX 460 4GB - Windows 10 Pro - Audient iD14 - Pro Tools 12.8.2 - Euphonix MC Transport - HP Pavilion DV7 - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
andymaher.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2018, 05:53 AM
Neil H Neil H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 193
Default Re: Laptop for Pro Tools 12 'vanilla'

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyMVP View Post
Those Gigabyte machines do look nice. Shame there's no 17" Aero. The Sabres and P series look good too.

Given that I typically only record one voice track into Pro Tools at a time (so signal flow is mono in > mixmixtinkertinkermixmix > stereo out) I'm not sure I'd need the data transfer speeds of Thunderbolt for my drives or interfaces - or am I overlooking something?
If you don't want firewire or a lot of high bandwidth USB devices plugged in at once then perhaps you won't need TB but I'd prefer to keep my options open and have as much connectivity as possible.

Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5 Ultimate
Windows 10 Pro

Join the Facebook Pro Tools Windows User Group
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools (vanilla) 12.6.1 on sierra 10.12.3 Pedro perez Pro Tools 12 3 02-21-2017 09:19 AM
Omni with Pro Tools Vanilla? OnlineRock Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-01-2016 05:51 PM
Pro Tools 12.6 standalone vanilla VS HD cmbourget Pro Tools 12 25 09-14-2016 07:33 AM
Pro Tools 12 HD & Vanilla Becharax Pro Tools 12 8 08-17-2016 05:10 AM
Pro Tools 12.2 Vanilla - Operating Studio Z-Chord Pro Tools 12 0 09-06-2015 10:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com