Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2013, 01:13 PM
jgagne1 jgagne1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default Is is possible to change the shortcuts for the Pencil Tool, Grabber Tool, ETC?

My issue is that I'm sequencing on a MacBook laptop, and the pointer tool shortcuts (which are basically the most important ones) conflict with the F keys that I always use on my laptop, especially the mute volume / volume up or down ones. Not to mention that the F5-F10 aren't in a very accessible place given where your left hand usually is.

Is there any way to change the shortcuts to these tools? I would LOVE to be able to use different keys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2013, 05:47 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Is is possible to change the shortcuts for the Pencil Tool, Grabber Tool, ETC?

No, they can not be remapped.
You may want to look at an X keys system it's a set of keys that you can program to be just about anything you want.

I've been thinking of trying a programmable gaming keyboard but have yet try it.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2013, 07:46 AM
vinlance vinlance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 62
Default Re: Is is possible to change the shortcuts for the Pencil Tool, Grabber Tool, ETC?

I think QuickKeys4 would help what you're trying to accomplish. I heard great things about this program, especially with Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shortcut to change grabber type in Smart Tool? Soundburst macOS 5 11-20-2013 12:06 PM
How do you change pencil tool automation depth? duderonomi Pro Tools 9 3 10-19-2011 03:40 PM
Get Grabber tool (Object) as part of smart tool? buckaroo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-13-2010 04:21 AM
My Pencil tool is a Grabber amiller Post - Surround - Video 2 09-13-2009 09:25 AM
Free Hand Pencil Tool Becomes Line Pencil Tool Vogger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-27-2009 10:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com