Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-18-2009, 12:59 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,029
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

What do you guys use for making image ? I'll probably try installing w7 64 bit this weekend, but I'll have to take and image backup of my XP setup first (to have something to fall back on if the 8.0.3 doesnt work).

Is symantec ghost still the best option ?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-18-2009, 01:35 AM
ChadB ChadB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
What do you guys use for making image ? I'll probably try installing w7 64 bit this weekend, but I'll have to take and image backup of my XP setup first (to have something to fall back on if the 8.0.3 doesnt work).

Is symantec ghost still the best option ?
Acronis True Image works great.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-18-2009, 04:29 AM
JonnyGinese JonnyGinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

Even with 64 Bit Device drives.. won't PT still only use 3 gbs ram in a 64 bit os? or is the 3bg limit only 32bit os? Also.. isn't there still a big performance hit usinh 7 and Vista? Please post you success and Dverb tests for 8.0.3 so we all can see i they have fixed the performance and also the 3gb limits.
__________________
-AIM: RS Recordings -Skype: RSRecords
| Pro Tools 8 Native | Windows 7 64-bit| Q6600 @ 3.0ghz | 8GBs RAM | Digi002r |
Studio Site: Red Sneaker Records
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-18-2009, 05:09 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

Yea the big thing is the device drivers that has to be 64 bit. Now once the Program as a whole is coded for 64bits, Pro Tools will be an producers/engineers dream. But like Benoni said, each 32bit program can access it's own 4GB space if it is available.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thesoundgroup/
Ideascale Profile: http://protools.ideascale.com/a/pmd/24503-3779

Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/003R/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-18-2009, 05:19 AM
JonnyGinese JonnyGinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

by 4gb .. do you mean 3gb like in XP with the /3gb switch? or do you mean actually 4 gb?

Benoni can you post your Dverb 2.0 score on your quad on the windows 7 64bit please
__________________
-AIM: RS Recordings -Skype: RSRecords
| Pro Tools 8 Native | Windows 7 64-bit| Q6600 @ 3.0ghz | 8GBs RAM | Digi002r |
Studio Site: Red Sneaker Records
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-18-2009, 05:27 AM
JonnyGinese JonnyGinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

well i just wanted to confirm.. thats what i though.. and I'm about to setup my system fresh.. and i have Windows 7 64bit Enterprise from my Job and i didn't know if i should make my system windows 7 64bit as my main setup or should i still do a fresh Windows XP setup and wait on 7...(hence why i want to see the Dverb 2.0 Test. My system before Overclock hit 160 dverb 2.0s in PTLE 8... didn't test it over clocked..
__________________
-AIM: RS Recordings -Skype: RSRecords
| Pro Tools 8 Native | Windows 7 64-bit| Q6600 @ 3.0ghz | 8GBs RAM | Digi002r |
Studio Site: Red Sneaker Records
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-18-2009, 05:53 AM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

Jonny,

I tested (real world) PTLE 8.0.1 on WinXP sp3 against PTMP 8.0.1 Win7 x64. I ran the same sessions on both and found very little, if any, performance difference. These sessions were mostly audio tracks with about 3 VI's (Strike, Eleven, and Mini Grand). However, they used some very, very CPU intensive mastering plug-ins.

Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PTHDN 2018.4, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-18-2009, 06:11 AM
JonnyGinese JonnyGinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

Alright.. I'm going to go for it... I'll do windows 7 64 bit for my new install tonight and if it doesn't work well for whatever reason I'll change to XP or dual boot it. I have 4gbs or ram right now.. guess I'll be ordering 4 more for Christmas .
__________________
-AIM: RS Recordings -Skype: RSRecords
| Pro Tools 8 Native | Windows 7 64-bit| Q6600 @ 3.0ghz | 8GBs RAM | Digi002r |
Studio Site: Red Sneaker Records
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-18-2009, 06:41 AM
JonnyGinese JonnyGinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

Yeah.. even if PT only uses 4gbs.. atleast i can Rewire BFD 2 and have it load all the samples into memory.. lol... Then Rewire Reaper as a VI host... this is goign to be fun(potentially...lol)
__________________
-AIM: RS Recordings -Skype: RSRecords
| Pro Tools 8 Native | Windows 7 64-bit| Q6600 @ 3.0ghz | 8GBs RAM | Digi002r |
Studio Site: Red Sneaker Records
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:12 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Windows 7 64Bit Audio Drivers (Beta) for Pro Tools LE 8.0.3

It is working ok you will not see a difference in something like a dverb test.it is CPU dependant not ram based try a test using mini grand you will see a huge jump with the extra ram.

There is also a few plugin issues I am finding. Mcdsp. Installs with errors but installs, vocalign does not work after first restart, a couple massey plugs won't install like ct4, had to get newest installers for bf3a and tl everyphase. Have not installed bfd2 yet that will determin a lot for me. So not quite ready for full time yet but a good start.sure you could check the windows HD forum for some other plug related issues they have been able to run 64 bit for a while now.

Oh and seems to be working fine w ie8 so far
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem installing digidesign audio drivers (beta) for windows 7 64-bit Applebase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-23-2011 12:56 AM
M-Box 2 Drivers 8.0.4 Windows 7 64bit problems Caatalyst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-06-2011 02:11 PM
M-Audio Public Beta Drivers for Windows 7 filosofem 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 11-01-2009 08:02 PM
Avid Audio beta program--Win 7 and Pro Tools beta testers wanted! Betaman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-04-2009 10:54 AM
Pro Tools 8 64bit public beta Zeff Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 20 08-17-2009 10:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com