Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2007, 04:59 AM
heybluez heybluez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlottesville, VA, USA
Posts: 80
Default Master fader or Aux fader for Buss?

Is there any difference with using a master fader as a buss? Or should I use an aux fader? Which one is designed for that?

Thanks!
Michael
__________________
Michael J. Prichard
Basic Setup:
DP G4 533
1024 MB RAM
2x 40 GB HD
80 GB Firewire
Digi002R
RME ADI-8 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2007, 08:21 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: Master fader or Aux fader for Buss?

signal flow is the main difference. You can find that in the reference guide.

because of signal flow:

aux tracks are better for mastering limiters

master faders are better for dither
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2018.7
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2007, 12:28 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Master fader or Aux fader for Buss?

I really need to write that article...

I have explained htis several times recently. Please search, or click my name and then "show all users posts" and simply skim the pages til u get to the threads with Master Fader in it.

Quickly, a Master Fader is not a track like the others, per se. A Master Fader is an object that is inline on EVERY buss except the input busses. Internal and Output busses have Master Faders "on" them. You do not add them. When you add a Master Fader to a session, you are actually creating a visual object that you can assign to control one of those existing Master Faders.

An Aux In track will have an input and output availble to it; whatever busses you assign to the input and/or output will have Master Faders on them; whether you decide to have a visual object present in your session to control/utilize them is completely up to you. Since the Master Fader is always there regardless, it uses no extra resources to have the visual object, or "Master Fader track", present.
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2007, 01:24 PM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Master fader or Aux fader for Buss?

When I saw the title of this post I for some strange reason thought about you nikki
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Gain Structure Fader/Master Fader Question acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-16-2011 05:36 AM
Buss and Master fader usage questions Sound-Influence Tips & Tricks 4 05-19-2006 10:12 AM
Master Fader 6.7 Master Fader issues Bogner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-19-2005 07:42 AM
Logic behind post fader insert on Master Buss? McMasters Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-17-2004 08:07 AM
DIGI: Will it ever be possible to implement Pre-Fader Inserts on the Master Fader? Ricky Cobble Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-05-2003 04:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com