Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2018, 10:46 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,891
Default 2018.7 So Far...

So far... Error free and crash free here. (Windows 10)
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2018, 11:28 AM
Panacci Panacci is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 198
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Any one see -6101 error fixed ? Im on a MAC
__________________
2009 8 Core Mac 5.1, (32 gigs Ram), 2011 MacBookPro , 828MKIII Hybrid , 8Pre, OSX High Sierra/Sierra, DP10, MachV3, PT12 Vanilla (latest) , Peak 7, Logic 9 ,WaveLab 9.5, DSP-Quattro 5 ,many plugins , mics and synths. http://www.panaccimusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2018, 11:37 AM
Evil Jack Evil Jack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 490
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Still only qualified for Mac OS 10.13.3?

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...m-Requirements

Good grief Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2018, 11:57 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Jack View Post
Still only qualified for Mac OS 10.13.3?

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...m-Requirements

Good grief Avid.
support told me it's a very very complex issue, as apple changed something in the OS.. remember, cubase misbehaves too with 10.13.4 and higher...

They said they would get it fixed, i think it was 2 releases from now from memory..

However I hope they also fix the general performance loss in any OS since 12.8.1

we'll see!
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:14 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 186
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
However I hope they also fix the general performance loss in any OS since 12.8.1

we'll see!
You hit the nail on the head, performance took a drastic dive in 12.8.2, something got seriously broken in this .x release, that's carried through subsequent updates.

Until they go back and workout what went wrong.. it's unprofessional performance for some of us.

When you've sat behind a Pro Tools rig for 20 years, you kind of get a feeling for when it's really not working correctly.. and my feeling is IT"S BROKE!!
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:26 PM
deerock deerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 135
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
When you've sat behind a Pro Tools rig for 20 years, you kind of get a feeling for when it's really not working correctly.. and my feeling is IT"S BROKE!!
-->no kidding! u just know it right away! :)
__________________
blender post
'translating your vision into sound'
www.blenderpost.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2018, 04:59 PM
SigFriedChicken's Avatar
SigFriedChicken SigFriedChicken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 318
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Jack View Post
Still only qualified for Mac OS 10.13.3?

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...m-Requirements

Good grief Avid.
Unfortunately, there is no supported way to install 10.13.3 since Apple no longer offers the base installation of 10.13. Unless you happened to already update to 10.13 prior to the release of 10.13.4, you're stuck. If you're lucky, you can stay on 10.12.x for a while.

It would be nice if there was more information from Avid regard what it is about the OS that is causing the performance issues. I realize that this may be a complex issue, but the reality is that both Apple and Microsoft are getting aggressive about inducing people to update to later versions at a faster pace. It's no longer realistic for a DAW vendor to simply throw their hands up and say that an OS revision is not supported nearly six months after its general release.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4 | OS X High Sierra | RME
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-31-2018, 09:53 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SigFriedChicken View Post
Unfortunately, there is no supported way to install 10.13.3 since Apple no longer offers the base installation of 10.13. Unless you happened to already update to 10.13 prior to the release of 10.13.4, you're stuck. If you're lucky, you can stay on 10.12.x for a while.

It would be nice if there was more information from Avid regard what it is about the OS that is causing the performance issues. I realize that this may be a complex issue, but the reality is that both Apple and Microsoft are getting aggressive about inducing people to update to later versions at a faster pace. It's no longer realistic for a DAW vendor to simply throw their hands up and say that an OS revision is not supported nearly six months after its general release.
If anyone is interested, it took a lot of searching, but a kind soul at steinberg forums gave me 10.13.2 full installer. I had located one previously here, but the mac wouldn't open it as said it wasn't a signed file (naughty naughty uploader). This one is 100% legit and works.

I am happy to upload it to my dropbox for a while (just a free account) if anyone needs it, i have tested it, works perfectly, sierra recognizes is as the legit installer, no warning pop ups.

it will take me ages due to 2.5 mb/s upload so give me a day I guess.. if you really want it let me know and i'll start uploading now! This will work on any imac pro as imac pro's first came with 10.13.2 :) Then you would just need the 10.13.3 imac pro specific update and you'll have the best high sierra DAW experience possible.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-01-2018, 07:21 AM
skizzo skizzo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 83
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
If anyone is interested, it took a lot of searching, but a kind soul at steinberg forums gave me 10.13.2 full installer. I had located one previously here, but the mac wouldn't open it as said it wasn't a signed file (naughty naughty uploader). This one is 100% legit and works.

I am happy to upload it to my dropbox for a while (just a free account) if anyone needs it, i have tested it, works perfectly, sierra recognizes is as the legit installer, no warning pop ups.

it will take me ages due to 2.5 mb/s upload so give me a day I guess.. if you really want it let me know and i'll start uploading now! This will work on any imac pro as imac pro's first came with 10.13.2 :) Then you would just need the 10.13.3 imac pro specific update and you'll have the best high sierra DAW experience possible.
There are unofficial (as in someone uploaded to a file share site like dropbox) available downloads out and about of the original High Sierra release too. As in the full installer for 10.13. I just got it in the last week and it worked fine.

I liked getting the original release because now I can update to any point release I want, and those ARE available officially through Apple. Unfortunately for me though, going to an earlier OS version did not solve my particular CPU spike issue. I will update to 2018.7 and see if either 10.13.3 or 10.13.6 rids me of the issue. If not, I will have to check and see if 2018.3 had the problem
__________________
Mac Pro '09 - 5,1 - Dual Hex Core X5680 3.33 ghz CPU - 48GB RAM
970EVO 500GB (10.13.6) - 1TB WD Black HDD (Samples) - 6TB Toshiba HDD (Backups) - 500GB Glyph GT050Q (Legacy sessions & backups) - 3TB Glyph Studio (Main audio/sessions)
HD5770 GPU

OSX 10.13.6 - Pro Tools 2018.12 - Presonus Studio 192 / Digi 003 Rack+
Focusrite Clarett OctoPre - AKG HPE6 - DBX160A - WA76
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-01-2018, 08:44 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 205
Default Re: 2018.7 So Far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
If anyone is interested, it took a lot of searching, but a kind soul at steinberg forums gave me 10.13.2 full installer. I had located one previously here, but the mac wouldn't open it as said it wasn't a signed file (naughty naughty uploader). This one is 100% legit and works.

I am happy to upload it to my dropbox for a while (just a free account) if anyone needs it, i have tested it, works perfectly, sierra recognizes is as the legit installer, no warning pop ups.

it will take me ages due to 2.5 mb/s upload so give me a day I guess.. if you really want it let me know and i'll start uploading now! This will work on any imac pro as imac pro's first came with 10.13.2 :) Then you would just need the 10.13.3 imac pro specific update and you'll have the best high sierra DAW experience possible.
That would be kind of you so I could install it on my Mac.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteX79-UP4 Rev 1.1
Xeon E5 2680 v.2. 10 Core cpu Windows10 v.1803
Avid HDX 2019.6 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 10.13.5 - will PT 2018.4 or .5 work well or stay with 2018.13? blankpro Pro Tools 2018 4 07-11-2018 07:22 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1 jamesleonard Pro Tools 2018 11 03-12-2018 05:21 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com