Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:34 AM
mozart mozart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 291
Default Can I use this hardware combination?

OK Here is my configuration:

Mac pro Dual 3.0 Quad Core/ 10GB RAM 4x1GB HD
Atto SCSI
Kingston StorCase Infostation II Model S10A143 filled with 9x73GB SCSI
Magma 7slot chassis PE6R4
Pro Tools HD3 Accel 7.4.2
Apogee Big Ben
192 I/O
Apogee AD16X
Apogee DA16X

I'd like to get either "RME" HDSPe AES" or "Lynx" AES16e", and put it in my computer, so I can sometime use "Cubase" or "Logic" with my "Apogee" interfaces. (connecting their AES I/O to the "RME" or "Lunx") Pro tools hardware is limited only to 8 input when I use "Cubase 4" with it. I'd like to try tracking in these applications.
Is that possible? I will even turn down the chassis when I'm going to be using "Cubase 4" or "Logic".
Does Somebody have that configuration already? Is it working?

Logically, seems OK, but..
I'll appreciate any input, Thanks,

Kostadin
__________________
Pro Tools 11.2 HDX

Apogee Symphony I/O 32analog I/O
192 I/O (old) Digital

Hack pro i7 Six Core/ 32 RAM


Kostadin Kamcev - Mozart
www.mozartstudio.com
Clifton, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2008, 04:21 AM
mozart mozart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 291
Default Re: Can I use this hardware combination?

Nobody ever tried that?
__________________
Pro Tools 11.2 HDX

Apogee Symphony I/O 32analog I/O
192 I/O (old) Digital

Hack pro i7 Six Core/ 32 RAM


Kostadin Kamcev - Mozart
www.mozartstudio.com
Clifton, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2008, 08:10 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 120
Default Re: Can I use this hardware combination?

Except for the storecase, I use the same setup...
Works GREAT !!!

I'll have a dual 2.8 quad core, 10gb Ram, 3x 500gb HD, installed with an Atto UL5D PCIe card, Firewire SIIG 2 port PCIe card, and an PE6R4 filled with 1 process card & 2 accel cards.
External: 192 & 96, Rorke Data canisters with several SCSI 320 hd's & 1 ssl duende classic.

Works since the last update realy solid, no more hangs when editting a lot with audiosuite plugs... wich was a real drag... restarting the whole thing would do the job... but that in the past now

Only thing I have now is when I switch sessions between LE and HD the wave seems to be drawn incorrect, the audio is correct but how it looks, is totally wrong, does not even come close... have to do a redraw and then its fine.... hope they fix that soon.

Hope that will answer it.... but its not an total match with your setup, but I think its close enough and it will work just great.

many greetings from the netherlands

Johnny Hulst
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best combination of Artist control hardware. RobinWinjil Artist Series 2 09-28-2012 03:59 PM
Mac + Pro Tools LE 8, a bad combination? ayayeyey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-04-2010 03:46 AM
Best Mic/Pre Combination for Mean Tone anyone??? Zap Launcher General Discussion 14 11-13-2008 12:17 PM
Panther & LE, which combination? SebastianEdward 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-07-2005 05:15 PM
Help for Microphone combination dave_koz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 03-25-2002 06:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com