Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2018, 05:09 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 725
Default Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Heads up! I upgraded to v 2018.1 on Mac Sierra and all my hard earned custom Eucon commands have been cleared for Dock And PT control alike.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2018, 05:35 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 725
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

How do I get them back? The easy way... Without doing them all over...
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443

Last edited by WorldStudios; 01-25-2018 at 06:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2018, 06:25 AM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 189
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldStudios View Post
Heads up! I upgraded to v 2018.1 on Mac Sierra and all my hard earned custom Eucon commands have been cleared for Dock And PT control alike.
It's possible that EuControl is looking at your old appsetfile. If you navigate to your custom appset folder you will most likely find your original "ProTools 12MAC" appset file. BACK IT UP AND THEN rename it to "ProTools 18MAC"


let us know if that works.

Last edited by Anthony_Anz; 01-25-2018 at 06:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2018, 07:03 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 725
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Yes, I remember this procedure faintly from the 11-12 transition... It worked, but not immediately and easily. To get it to work and stick I had to

1 Quit eucontrol and disable EuCon in ProTools-peripherals
2 delete the contents of Dyn appsets in Library/application support/Euphonix
3 Delete the Pro Tools 18Mac.xml from MC-USER-SET-Root n Library/application support/Euphonix/user sets/MC2User
4 Copy Pro Tools 12mac.xml to a safe location
5 Rename the old Pro Tools 12Mac.xml in its original locationto Pro Tools 18Mac.xml
6 Run protools and enable Eucon
7 Run Eucon
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443

Last edited by WorldStudios; 01-27-2018 at 02:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2018, 07:04 AM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 189
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldStudios View Post
Yes, I remember this procedure faintly from the 11-12 transition... It worked, but not immediately and easily. To get it to work and stick I had to

1 Quit eucontrol and disable EuCon in ProTools-peripherals
2 delete the contents of Dyn appsets in Library/support/Euphonix
3 Delete the Pro Tools 18Mac.xml from MC-USER-SET-Root n Library/support/Euphonix/user sets/MC2User
4 Rename the old Pro Tools 12Mac.xml to Pro Tools 18Mac.xml after copying it to a safe location
5 Run protools and enable Eucon
6 Run Eucon
Ah, glad you were able to get your settings back and thank you for documenting your steps on how to get it to be fully functional. I'm sure it will come up again here as more users upgrade. =)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2018, 07:14 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,462
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Rename your old PT 12 Appset to 18. In V3.8 we have new Load and Save As commands, but unfortunately we missed the release and needed a couple more weeks to iron out all the bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2018, 07:18 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 725
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Good to hear and happy to help.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2018, 09:01 PM
Anthony_Anz Anthony_Anz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 189
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Hey All, just an FYI. I shot a very brief video going over renaming custom appset files to work with PT 2018 (Windows). As Eddie mentioned it looks like v.3.8 will have a load/save feature in order to import our current custom softkeys into EuControl for use with PT 2018 which is awesome, but until then I hope it helps somebody.. When 3.8 drops I'll pull this video and shoot another one based on the fully supported import/load feature.

I referred back to this thread in the comments because WorldStudios was nice enough document his experience on a MAC...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOOlnX0ZUQk

-A
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2018, 11:39 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,904
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Thanks guys! Renaming the XML file worked. Easy.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
RHUMBA
www.rhumba.pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2018, 12:08 PM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 725
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018.1 Cleared my personal settings

Oh, Happy Days!
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Namm 2018 Pro Tools new hardware zavid General Discussion 14 11-17-2017 11:20 AM
Is Pro Tools 12.6.1 cleared to run on OSX Sierra? SteveGarman Pro Tools 12 1 12-14-2016 01:17 PM
Pro Tools crashes when commit is cleared from Undo history Audiofarm Pro Tools 12 69 06-14-2016 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com