Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2007, 04:12 PM
Jstil Jstil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default System responce is very slow

I am currently having issues with PT HD 7.2cs2. My system seems to lag every time I try to do a task, for example when I try to save my session it seems to take a while(5-7seconds) and the file drop down menu stays hi-lighted this whole time.

Other tasks such as soloing a track, setting a track to input and record ready, and changing inputs and outputs of a track seems to cause the spinning beach ball to appear for a few seconds before completing the task.

I am using very few plug-ins (about 7 TDM)

My current playback engine settings are as follows:
H/W buffer size: 1024MB
RTAS Processors: 1
CPU Usage: 75%
Voice Allocation: 96 voices
Delay Compensation: None
DAE Playback Buffer: Level 2

System:
PTHD 7.2cs2
HD 3
Dual 2.0GHz G5
8G memory


Any help would be great. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2007, 05:06 PM
Pepo Pepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 165
Default Re: System responce is very slow

I dont know your system, but know the os a bit.
75% cpu usage is a lot, it doesnt make sense. Could there be some system or pt backround tasks? You could open activity monitor (under applications>utilities) and check to see what procceses are going on, and see how much cpu is each taking.
Now about your os version, pt version and machine model, someone may be of more help.
Pepo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2007, 05:57 PM
Jstil Jstil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default Re: System responce is very slow

I'm Running
OS 10.4.8
PT 7.2cs2
Dual 2 GHz G5 PowerPC
8G Ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2007, 11:40 AM
ChrisMitchell ChrisMitchell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 163
Default Re: System responce is very slow

Does it happen on every session you work on?
Does it happen on every drive you record on?
How about a totally blank, new session?
When did this problem start happening?
Did you change something recently coincidentally with this issue happening?
Have you worked without that delay on this exact set up before?

I had a similar problem on my PT 6.2.3 system on a new FW400 external hard drive (OWC 320 GB). Every time I would record arm a track, it would delay 5 to 7 seconds before arming the track. The difference between you and me is that it's happening on everything with you, and it only happened on arming with me. I know this is wacky before I say it, but it only happened on the new FW drive I was using. When I moved one of the problem sessions to another drive, the problem disappeared. I repaired permissions, trashed the Digidesign database on that hard drive, and ran Disk Warrior, turned everything off and booted up. It seemed to lessen it from happening somewhat, but not completely gone.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2007, 01:33 AM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 498
Default Re: System responce is very slow

a couple of leads :
Check that plugins are up to date with 7.2. (in particular waves)
Did you inactivate the Spotlight indexing "feature"? (with Spotless for example)
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Producer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Message/responce for member "SNAPPER" aka John. DJ Hellfire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-10-2008 07:08 PM
Antares AutoTune 4 Native + Old System = Slow Performance??? ChrisMitchell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-16-2007 06:26 AM
athlon 1.2 ghz for digi 001, 5.3.1? SLOW,SLOW,SLOW hitwriter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-19-2005 08:55 PM
athlon system slow redraw? executivos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 04-23-2002 06:59 PM
Midi Responce Armando 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-19-2000 12:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com