Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-28-2019, 07:04 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,028
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

Quote:
Originally Posted by XNA View Post
Thanks Musicman691! So there is no danger of making copies via just right-click and copy/past in Finder? I was training under a professional sound designer and I know that that is what he did, yet like I said in my question, EVERYONE on the internet said that that was not reliable was to. That's why I am so confused now! (yes I do system backups - Two different time machines and CCC clones)

You should be warned that if you make a session folder copy like this and then open and work in the copy while the original session folder is still present, any file that gets created will get put in the original folder. If you then think it's subsequently ok to delete the original session folder, you'll find you have missing stuff the next time you open the copy session.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-28-2019, 09:38 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,426
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
If you don’t want to touch the original session, just save a copy of the session and work on that. There’s zero need to duplicate the audio files etc.

Having a backup of everything is a good idea, but duplicating the .ptx file and working on that won’t affect any of the audio.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What if you use AudioSuite plugins? Doesn't that destructively affect the audio?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-28-2019, 01:34 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

Of course, but it doesn’t erase the original audio.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-28-2019, 01:35 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,997
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
What if you use AudioSuite plugins? Doesn't that destructively affect the audio?
Not by default. AS renders a new clip/file unless you select "overwrite" and then you get a bunch of warnings telling you it is destructive.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-28-2019, 01:38 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Not by default. AS renders a new clip/file unless you select "overwrite" and then you get a bunch of warnings telling you it is destructive.


Yep.

BTW, I’ve never met ANYONE that uses it like that. I’m sure there is someone doing it that way, but it must be a very rare use case scenario.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-28-2019, 01:42 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,603
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

Anyhow printing new AS generated files to old location is a bad idea because if the audio files are not connected to the session file folder you can easily just delete the old folder without thinking much, thus losing the new files that belong to the modified session
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-28-2019, 02:09 PM
mbourque mbourque is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 131
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

Quote:
Originally Posted by XNA View Post
But that is not the culprit in my case, because when I look at the Clip List and select Unused Files ….it highlights almost 100 unused files — NOT just 16!
In case you didn't know, a single audio file in the folder can have multiple clips referring to that file. So having 100 unused files (you probably mean Clips), is normal if those clips are no longer in use in the session. (In the Clip List, the names in bold correspond to an actual audio file. Otherwise, those are clips of those files).

As someone said, the best way to ensure that the backed up session is ok is to open it. You can also open the workspace to see if all audio files are located in the Audio Files folder of the backed up session.
__________________
Matthieu Bourque
Kaïku Audio

PT Ultimate 2018.12 on macOS 10.13.3

and PT HD 12.7 on macOS 10.12
Custom build
MB: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU: Intel i7 6700K
RAM: G-Skill Trident Z 32 Gb
RME Fireface UFX
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-28-2019, 02:12 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,603
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbourque View Post
best way to ensure that the backed up session is ok is to open it
Yes but be aware that this isn't always enough! IF your session has audio files linked outside of the session folder, just opening the session tells you that it is okay now -- but once you delete the needed files outside of the session folder, you're screwed.

Only way to be 100% sure is to consolidate (as in create new audio files inside your session folder) and then backup the session folder. Save Copy In should streamline this.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-28-2019, 03:52 PM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: 1) "Save Copy In" command does NOT make a complete copy! 2) How to properly back

If people got in the habit of checking their Disk Allocation regularly and using the Session Browser they'd sure save themselves a lot of grief. The Session Browser window has everything you need to easily and quickly confirm that all your assets are where you think they are, and if not to move or copy and relink them into the correct place.

I'm not disagreeing that consolidating is a decent way to guarantee stuff is encapsulated in the session, but it won't do you any good if your disk allocation is incorrect, and it does generate an awful lot of extra data.

Just sayin...
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Save Copy In for "updating" a backup folder? Sir Hannes Pro Tools 12 4 01-16-2018 02:47 PM
Bug? "Save A Copy In" not working properly GeorgeA Pro Tools 12 5 09-15-2017 11:10 AM
"Save Session Copy In..." not working properly Meads Pro Tools 11 2 07-20-2013 09:15 AM
"Save Copy In..." Never Works Properly! reichman Post - Surround - Video 21 11-12-2008 09:54 AM
"Save Session Copy" MUST copy AIIFF files??? BHeller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-11-2001 12:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com