Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2003, 05:22 PM
donmr123 donmr123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 56
Default Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

It seems I'm not the only one with this problem. Reason 2.5 and Ableton Live! don't work with the new core audio drivers v1.2 as advertised. However, iTunes 4 and Quicktime seems to work just fine. In the audio/midi app in OSX with the MBox selected you get a choice between 44.1k and 48k at 32bit!?!?!?
Older versions of core audio driver worked at least with Live! but were too buggy to use. if anyone has any idea how to get Reason 2.5 and/or Live! working with the new CA 1.2 drivers please let us know!
Thanks
Don
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2003, 06:09 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

Hey there, just dug out my reason disks so I could authorize and try out 2.5 and you're right, the Core Audio drivers don't work!! There's not even an option for digidesign hardware in the audio preferences panel!

I've got an Mbox on 10.2.5 here, the Core Audio drivers have been working great in Logic Audio 6 since the first revision, but apparently Reason is still a no-go situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2003, 06:30 PM
Philo Philo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 6
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

You have to use Audio MIDI setup to set the "Default Output" under Audio Devices to the Digi 001. (I kept the system output on Built in).

I restarted, and then the 001 output appeared as an option in Reason 2.5

This is working for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2003, 06:54 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

Thanks Philo, that totally worked for me too. That's weird that you have to restart - my other audio apps just see the core audio driver without having to have them selected in Audio/MIDI setup. I was even able to reset my default output back to 'built in' one Reason had been launched once with the new setting, just needed to do exactly as you explained to get it working.

Slim

-----
TiBook 1Ghz / 1gb RAM
10.2.5 / Mbox
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2003, 07:11 PM
J. Guerrero J. Guerrero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Veracruz, Ver., México
Posts: 485
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

It's weird what's happening to you, guys.
Again, I'm happy that the driver worked as it's supposed to be with Reason 2.5, without having to select it at either AudioMIDI Setup or the Sound Preference pane. Reason 2.5 just picked it up!
I'm not happy about the buffer size, but it's usable enough to do live performances.
Now, I'm not saying that there's no way that you have problems, something is affecting your system somehow. Do you guys use your computers for tasks other than audio and maybe normal internet usage (check mails, updates, DUC around)...? Maybe that's what is affecting your systems.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2003, 09:07 PM
kris whitten kris whitten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: H.B. CA
Posts: 939
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

Anyone care to comment on the new "effects" in Reason 2.5? Are they good, crappy, anything?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2003, 11:28 PM
donmr123 donmr123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 56
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

Still the same problem. Reason and Live just won't see the MBox. Quicktime and iTunes no problem.
Any other suggestions?
I don't have any apps running that want the sound output as far as I can tell.
This is driving me nuts!
thanks
Don
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2003, 12:45 AM
donmr123 donmr123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 56
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

might there be some kind of preference file I could trash for the audio/midi app in OSX similar to the old routine in OS 9?
Thanks
Don
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2003, 02:20 PM
allisvanity allisvanity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

No problem for me either. Reason 2.5 works fine. However, I can't run Reason AND PT at the same time with CA 1.2. Which kinda sucks.

Evan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2003, 04:52 PM
yes yes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Portland,Ore.USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: Core Audio 1.2 Reason 2.5, Live! don\'t work!

Anyone care to comment on the new "effects" in Reason 2.5? Are they good, crappy, anything?


Reason 2.5 is Great! The new reverb is very smooth and flexible. Much better then the old one. The Screamer is cool. Great tape saturation and warmth.
I love it.
Cheers,
Jamie
__________________
http://www.strayvoltage.net
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pcie core + Core audio + Tiger, does it work? fantomaz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-21-2005 01:04 PM
LE 6.7, Live and Reason - how to manage work flow Ignatius Reilly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-17-2005 11:06 AM
Making work Reason 2 with Core Audio drivers: J. Guerrero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-04-2003 12:17 AM
Core Audio X: Live & PT sharing audio interface? ashdot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-03-2003 10:59 AM
Does anyknow if a Lexicon Core 2 will work with Reason? ckerian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 54 03-26-2002 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com