Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2018, 11:22 AM
Aquic Aquic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 26
Default HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate! [SOLVED]

Hi There,
I have a new computer updated to High Sierra 10.13.3 and ProTools completely updated as well to the last version 2018.1. I have been installing ProTools and plugins at home, and everything was working in Native mode with no problem. But now I have moved to the studio, and there is no way that my computer detect my HDX Card. I have checked everything I have seen in a post in this forum.

Just in case I did what is suggested in this post with no success: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-Tools-upgrade

I have re-installed proTools from scratch again too.
I have checked in the system info of my computer if my Sonnet Echo Express III TB2 is working, and yes, it's working, active and recognized by the thunderbolt port.

I have opened anyway the chassis, and I have seen that the card is receiving power, and the different green lights are blinking. I suppose that it should work.

I have done everything I can do until now but my card does not exist for my system. I have even try a Digitest, but obviously, no slot is recognized.

Please, HELP... Any Ideas? Is there a way to create a ticket in AVID to get from the support?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Mac Pro 3,5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5. 64 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3.
High Sierra 10.13.6
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5
Interfaces 3 x 192 I/O + 1 x Apogee Rosetta 800
Logic Audio 10.4

Last edited by Aquic; 02-08-2018 at 01:11 AM. Reason: [SOLVED]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:14 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,526
Default Re: HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate!

HD Driver installed?

Digilink I/O asset on iLok?

Edit: you did these....

try a different TB cable? They have chips in them that can go bad.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:16 PM
Aquic Aquic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 26
Default Re: HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate!

Yes, of course!
__________________
Mac Pro 3,5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5. 64 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3.
High Sierra 10.13.6
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5
Interfaces 3 x 192 I/O + 1 x Apogee Rosetta 800
Logic Audio 10.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:17 PM
Aquic Aquic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 26
Default Re: HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate!

I tried two different thunderbolt cables as well, and I tried all the thunderbolts ports that have my mac, just in case too.
__________________
Mac Pro 3,5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5. 64 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3.
High Sierra 10.13.6
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5
Interfaces 3 x 192 I/O + 1 x Apogee Rosetta 800
Logic Audio 10.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2018, 02:40 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,113
Default Re: HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate!

Maybe, try the hdx card in a different slot in your chassis … which slot number is it currently in ?
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2018, 03:49 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,747
Default Re: HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate!

Upgraded from which previous version of Pro Tools?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2018, 01:11 AM
Aquic Aquic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 26
Default [SOLVED] HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate!

Hi there,
I received a call from a Guy of AVID Support tema, and after almost 3 hours deleting and installing again we found what was happening. This is a complete new installation, but the first time I install ProTools I did it at home using as interface the Built-In audio of my Mac. So, the first time I opened ProTools, my HDX card was not there.

We delete everything and installed again several times with no success, and we started to think the problem was my chassis, a Sonnet Echo Express III, or the card that could be broken.

But in a moment of inspiration, this guy asked me to reate a new user, and open a new session from that user. Then we just opened ProTools and suddenly the ProTools gives us an error related with the firmware of the card, asking us to update that firmware.

So we updated of the firmware and the next time we open ProTools, everything was working like a Charm, and that was all.

At any case, I consider another thing relevant in this case, which was to leave the Sonnet Chassis, completely alone in one of the two thunderbolt busses of the computer. Actually, my mouse was sluggish sometimes because that I think. Now it's working properly, and it wasn't like that before. I know that USB and thunderbolt has nothing to do, but it seems that to have my display just below the thunderbolt of my chassis, in its same thunderbolt buss could make my computer have unwanted behaviours.

Sooo Happy with the AVID Support Team!
Although, I hope it will be the last time I have to contact them, because this has been a nightmare taking in count that all my equipment is completely new.

Thanks all for your help on this!
__________________
Mac Pro 3,5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5. 64 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3.
High Sierra 10.13.6
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5
Interfaces 3 x 192 I/O + 1 x Apogee Rosetta 800
Logic Audio 10.4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2018, 03:19 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: [SOLVED] HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate!

Glad it worked out for you, Aquic, and thanks for sharing the solution.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2018, 02:35 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,113
Default Re: [SOLVED] HDX card not recognized - Completely Desperate!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
Glad it worked out for you, Aquic, and thanks for sharing the solution.


+1
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio track monitoring of aux is completely broken for me [solved] TNM Pro Tools 2018 5 02-06-2018 07:10 AM
Kind of desperate -HDX card not recognized DrewSherm Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 12-07-2016 11:26 AM
iLok Authorizations Not Recognized (SOLVED) anackman Pro Tools 12 0 02-22-2016 07:25 AM
HD3 3rd card not recognized dhumez Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 12-29-2011 01:09 PM
192 not recognized from Core card, but IS from Accel Card. Advice? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-24-2010 09:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com