Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2017, 07:43 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 471
Default Minimum System for Recording Only

Hey, all. I use PT12HD in the studio, but I do location recording 8-10 times a year. Been toting around an old but reliable Windows XP desktop using SAWStudio until that system just bit the dust, so I'm leaning toward moving to Mac and PT now. I don't do enough of this to justify a pricey Macbook Pro, but both the Mac Mini (and possibly iMac) look intriguing. I need a system that will record 24 tracks for extended sessions, but never anything beyond the capture itself. I know all the published specs and reasons for going bigger, but in real world terms, what is the bare minimum system you'd recommend for such a specific task?
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.6, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.6, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2017, 07:51 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,186
Default Minimum System for Recording Only

What interface are you using? What other gear? If you are moving around a rack of stuff already? Recording 24 tracks *simultaneously*? What exactly, a band? Choir? Give us some clue what you are doing.

You own Pro Tools already? Would take your HD license/iLok out to record with on site?

Importantly how much "stuff" do you need in the recording DAW? Do you need VIs etc etc Other vendors make lighter weight recording software like Waves Tracks Live or you can use a stand alone digital recorder.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 08-29-2017 at 08:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2017, 08:28 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,786
Default Re: Minimum System for Recording Only

And to add to Darryls post, Lugging around an iMac would be very unreasonable as its Heavy and quite fragile.

I would get a second hand Macbook Pro 2012 where you can have two internal hard drives and you can update RAM at your pleasure. The new Macbooks are soldered RAM so no bueno.

I seen the MBP late 2011 early to mid 2012 for 600-ish USD if i convert from swedish SEK to USD.

You can put two SSD drives into that MBP by using the dvd tray which us unnecessary anyway nowadays or jusst have the dvd tray with you in case you wanna burn a dvd/cd on the road and just swap it on the go.

I have many friends who have that MBP and they love it. It is an i7 CPU and it has everything you need in power and specs for the price. I would go with one of those infront of the iMac or Mac Mini for sure.

If you want to look at mac mini make sure it is an i7 and the "Server" version a.k.a Amac mini server. They are quite heap now and seen them for 400-500 USD. Look at the Macbook Pro late 2011 or mid 2012 i7 and get two ssd drives and you are golden. If you cant find what you want hollaback and I can buy one here and send it to you and still come in way under 600USD. I have a family member at upper mngmnt for UPS so shipping would be none or maybe a $50 dollabill maximum. Right now i see a few great condition ones for around $500 which can be hassled down 35-50 bucks.

Let me know if ypu cant find what you are looking for at the price you wanna pay and i will do everything i can to get you what you want for the price you wanna pay within reason and ship it insured to you so you have it expedited shipping within 2 business days
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2017, 08:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,738
Default Re: Minimum System for Recording Only

Indeed, a used MBP with an i7 quad and maxed out RAM would be my choice(even though I am a PC guy) for portable recording.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2017, 08:37 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 471
Default Re: Minimum System for Recording Only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
What interface are you using? What other gear? If you are moving around a rack of stuff already? Recording 24 tracks *simultaneously*? What exactly, a band? Choir? Give us some clue what you are doing.

You own Pro Tools already? Would take your HD license/iLok out to record with on site?

Importantly how much "stuff" do you need in the recording DAW? Do you need VIs etc etc Other vendors make lighter weight recording software like Waves Tracks Live or you can use a stand alone digital recorder.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hey, Darryl. My systems have always been PCIe card based, so I'd need to get a USB interface. Probably an RME USB Digiface, since I already have external conversion with ADAT outputs. I do bring a rack or two of preamps and converters. Most of my remotes are orchestras, but have also included choirs, jazz bands, recitals, conferences, etc...

I have a second PT 11 license that I would use for the remote system. And it would be absolutely bare---no VI's and zero third-party plugins. No need for any type of mixing or processing whatsoever. The remote system will sit on a shelf between sessions. I've thought about a standalone recorder but haven't liked any of the options. I prefer to stick with a DAW, and using Pro Tools would simplify the transfer process to my main rig.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.6, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.6, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2017, 08:41 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 471
Default Re: Minimum System for Recording Only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
And to add to Darryls post, Lugging around an iMac would be very unreasonable as its Heavy and quite fragile.

I would get a second hand Macbook Pro 2012 where you can have two internal hard drives and you can update RAM at your pleasure. The new Macbooks are soldered RAM so no bueno.

I seen the MBP late 2011 early to mid 2012 for 600-ish USD if i convert from swedish SEK to USD.

You can put two SSD drives into that MBP by using the dvd tray which us unnecessary anyway nowadays or jusst have the dvd tray with you in case you wanna burn a dvd/cd on the road and just swap it on the go.

I have many friends who have that MBP and they love it. It is an i7 CPU and it has everything you need in power and specs for the price. I would go with one of those infront of the iMac or Mac Mini for sure.

If you want to look at mac mini make sure it is an i7 and the "Server" version a.k.a Amac mini server. They are quite heap now and seen them for 400-500 USD. Look at the Macbook Pro late 2011 or mid 2012 i7 and get two ssd drives and you are golden. If you cant find what you want hollaback and I can buy one here and send it to you and still come in way under 600USD. I have a family member at upper mngmnt for UPS so shipping would be none or maybe a $50 dollabill maximum. Right now i see a few great condition ones for around $500 which can be hassled down 35-50 bucks.

Let me know if ypu cant find what you are looking for at the price you wanna pay and i will do everything i can to get you what you want for the price you wanna pay within reason and ship it insured to you so you have it expedited shipping within 2 business days
Thanks much, Christopher. I'll take a look at both the MBP and Mini options and see how the market looks.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.6, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.6, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2017, 08:42 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 471
Default Re: Minimum System for Recording Only

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Indeed, a used MBP with an i7 quad and maxed out RAM would be my choice(even though I am a PC guy) for portable recording.
Same here, mostly a PC guy (Mac for Logic but not PT). Agreed, it's looking like an older MBP might be the best choice. Looking into it.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.6, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.6, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2017, 08:54 PM
Jason4127's Avatar
Jason4127 Jason4127 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Waterford/USA
Posts: 40
Default Re: Minimum System for Recording Only

Mac book pro 2012

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2017, 09:04 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,186
Default Minimum System for Recording Only

Just one comment, and this is not my area. But if doing this I would at least consider a field recorder, and keep things stand alone and simple. Maybe look at something with ADAT inputs and can act as an interface if needed. Like ones made by JoeCo... I have no idea how they are.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-29-2017, 11:14 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 471
Default Re: Minimum System for Recording Only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Just one comment, and this is not my area. But if doing this I would at least consider a field recorder, and keep things stand alone and simple. Maybe look at something with ADAT inputs and can act as an interface if needed. Like ones made by JoeCo... I have no idea how they are.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The simplicity of a field recorder is very attractive, but I already have good converters and a great collection of preamps that are superior to those in all but the highest-end units. A lot of people have been singing the praises of the Zoom F8, which is slightly tempting, but the JoeCo stuff is too expensive for me to justify.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.6, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Quad; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.6, Apogee Rosetta 800, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Sierra, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2018.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimum System Patricky General Discussion 1 08-15-2005 01:06 PM
buying used TDM. What is the minimum system? tapani Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 04-01-2005 04:43 PM
What's the Bare Minimum for a 888/24 system? Java Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-27-2002 12:51 AM
Bare Minimum System? MaxQ Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 12-12-2000 02:35 PM
MLCD Minimum system ?? HoosierSnd Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 08-07-1998 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com