Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2000, 07:08 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 931
Default Firewire CD burner

Has anyone used a firewire CD burner successfully with PT LE 5.01?? If so, which brands.
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2000, 09:35 PM
chudlo chudlo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: new orleans
Posts: 36
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

I have had a QPS 8x 4x 32x for a couple of months and have had no troubles at all. No coasters. It also looks cool on top of my G4.
__________________
[[[[{{{chudlo}}}]]]]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2000, 11:33 PM
Ramesh Ramesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

Does anybody work with Sony 12x8x32 spressa firewire?
If yes, please report.

thanx

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2000, 09:22 AM
Red Wing Red Wing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 59
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

Hi Armando, I just bought the LaCie 8x4x32 Firewire cd burner. So far I'm quite happy with it. I do have some questions however for some of the other people with burners. Can you all actually burn audio cd's from your computers cdrom at the fastest speed? I have only been able to burn pre-recorded cds at a maximum of 6X. That's pretty damn fast so I still have no complaints. I also noticed a little glitch of random audio for a second between 2 songs on one occasion. What is everyone finding to be the ideal settings, ie write speed, cache setting to copy an audio cd? Has anyone else experienced little glitches of audio being printed to your burned cd's from time to time. My burner is brand new and so I would be bummed if this happened on a regular basis.

Also Armando, the best thing I can recommend is to go to the most respected pro audio dealer that is using specific burners / gear with the SAME equipment configuration that you are using. I have found actual computer dealers to be all but useless in terms of them knowing what equipment will work in harmony with systems dedicated to audio. There is just so much potential for incompatibility and conflicts that you need to go somewhere and see the same gear that you have running effectively. Hopefully you don't live far away from a major city where this would be possible. Good Luck!


[This message has been edited by Red Wing (edited October 11, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2000, 03:47 PM
jnitti jnitti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

I've been using the QPS model 525 and have had no problems at all. It works up to and including it's fastest speeds. I even hear that the latest version of Jam will work with it. That's my next step to figure out which is the best software for the final mastering and burn to audio CD. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2000, 05:11 PM
Dead River Studio Dead River Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Boston, USA
Posts: 330
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

Who is QPS have a web site? I went to QPS.com
and it's Quark Publication.

KS
__________________
My studio... http://www.deadriverstudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2000, 08:37 PM
JonInside JonInside is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wantagh, NY 11793
Posts: 7
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

at our studio we have "fantom" firewire burners. We always encounter a digital pop after the last sound on the cd. any suggestions? we tried switching media and upgrading to toast deluxe. help me
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2000, 08:00 PM
dead2life dead2life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 7
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

Its www.qps-inc.com by the way and if you go to xlr8yourmac.com and try the drives data base you sure find a heap of people with experience in all these products !



------------------
yours ignorantly,

Dead2life
__________________
yours ignorantly,
Dead2life
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2000, 04:09 PM
PINOCCHIO PINOCCHIO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Joliet,Il,USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

I use a QPS 12x10x32x fire wire drive and have had no problems!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2000, 06:57 PM
garuda_x garuda_x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: los angeles, CA USA
Posts: 52
Default Re: Firewire CD burner

the que dirves are basically plextor mechanisms.......you can look up more dtailed info from plextor if you like. they are even supposed to support the burn proof tech that plextor markets...this is only with the 12x drives though ( i think)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firewire cd burner staedtler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2002 09:39 AM
Firewire cdrw burner on B/W G3 ? Yes or No? Marc Cooreman General Discussion 2 12-10-2001 09:10 AM
Firewire CD Burner AM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 25 03-04-2001 02:26 AM
firewire cd burner jnitti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-29-2000 08:55 AM
CD burner Firewire or SCSI? dutchman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-17-2000 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com