Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2015, 04:30 AM
DeusNovus DeusNovus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greece
Posts: 10
Default Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

Hello,

I'm an old Avid customer but it's my first time posting here. I currently have PT9 but I'll be crossgrading to PT11 in a few days, so I have a question.

Is it possible to transfer my iLok's PT9 (or PT11) license to my 2 computers? Currently, my iLok License Manager doesn't have my MBP and iMac as Valid Locations. I've searched the forums before asking and some people have managed to do so, but no one explains how. Carrying my iLok around with me is such a hassle and a liability, I just want to keep it someplace safe, in case of an emergency.

Thanks everyone ~
Yiannis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2015, 04:50 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,573
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

No
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2015, 07:52 AM
DeusNovus DeusNovus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greece
Posts: 10
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

Although you're probably right, I'll just wait to see whether anybody knows otherwise or a workaround of sorts. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2015, 08:16 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusNovus View Post
Although you're probably right, I'll just wait to see whether anybody knows otherwise or a workaround of sorts. Thank you.
Sorry, Pro Tools is currently "ilok only". One authorization per license.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2015, 08:25 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,611
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusNovus View Post
Is it possible to transfer my iLok's PT9 (or PT11) license to my 2 computers? ... Carrying my iLok around with me is such a hassle and a liability, I just want to keep it someplace safe, in case of an emergency.
Welcome to the community.

They are correct (licenses must be Activated to an iLok). You might want to look into Zero Downtime with Theft & Loss Coverage - you'd still need to bring your iLok with you but if it got lost or stolen you'd be back up and running quickly with another iLok.

Regards,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2015, 12:06 PM
DeusNovus DeusNovus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greece
Posts: 10
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Welcome to the community.

They are correct (licenses must be Activated to an iLok). You might want to look into Zero Downtime with Theft & Loss Coverage - you'd still need to bring your iLok with you but if it got lost or stolen you'd be back up and running quickly with another iLok.

Regards,
JC
Oh, I understand... How unfortunate. I've had a friend from college who managed to store his legally purchased PT license from his iLok to his HDD. it must have been a nifty workaround, but it would have been nice if it could be done in an official and accessible way. Thank you for your response.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2015, 01:06 AM
bacanstone bacanstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 14
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

cannot transfer to pc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2015, 01:36 AM
mattytoldhatty mattytoldhatty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: brighton england
Posts: 73
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

You are about to do what I did at the end of December... upgrade from pt9 to pt11.

I hate to winge about trivialities and I see a lot of that on this forum. This post is more than that. My experience has been filled with problems and resulting stress. Not once have I had a working pt11 in the three months I've had it.

Why do you want to upgrade? If pt9 is working for you stay with it. Wish I had, because there's no way back to pt9 once you make the leap. PT10 is supposed to bridge the gap and it does to a great extent, but you've shelled out 199 US for the privilege of standing still ... well I have.

Take a look round the forum. I'm not the only one. I Deeply regret falling into the 64bit blah blah nonsense. It has given me only problems and put me in the position of having to shell out more cash to Waves to upgrade my plugins in order to use them if I finally get a working 64bit program I won't go into the ilok problems I've also had

Sorry Avid but pt11 should carry a mental health warning.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2015, 01:40 AM
mattytoldhatty mattytoldhatty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: brighton england
Posts: 73
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

BTW. I meant to say how great the moderators are on the site. They really do try to help with problems. Thank you guys
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-22-2015, 04:08 AM
DeusNovus DeusNovus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greece
Posts: 10
Default Re: Transfer iLok license to computer(s)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattytoldhatty View Post
You are about to do what I did at the end of December... upgrade from pt9 to pt11.

I hate to winge about trivialities and I see a lot of that on this forum. This post is more than that. My experience has been filled with problems and resulting stress. Not once have I had a working pt11 in the three months I've had it.

Why do you want to upgrade? If pt9 is working for you stay with it. Wish I had, because there's no way back to pt9 once you make the leap. PT10 is supposed to bridge the gap and it does to a great extent, but you've shelled out 199 US for the privilege of standing still ... well I have.

Take a look round the forum. I'm not the only one. I Deeply regret falling into the 64bit blah blah nonsense. It has given me only problems and put me in the position of having to shell out more cash to Waves to upgrade my plugins in order to use them if I finally get a working 64bit program I won't go into the ilok problems I've also had

Sorry Avid but pt11 should carry a mental health warning.
Oh, is that so? Hmm, that's very interesting. I've read similar testimonies here and there, but I thought they might have been new to the whole PT experience. But I am starting to see your point.

Honestly, I wouldn't mind the AAX transition, as much as I would mind the more notorious & dangerous DAE errors and most people that wrote reviews for PT11 had some terrible experiences so far, like corrupted PT sessions etc. It's just that I formatted both of my work computers and wanted to start over with a clean slate with new upgraded software, but if the majority suggests PT11 is a risky transition for the moment, it's something to take into consideration, especially now that the iLok site is down. (thus having not been able to purchase the PT11 upgrade since yesterday)

EDIT: The iLok site literally just came back. Damn it life, what kind of lesson are you trying to teach me here??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: PT 10 HD license(iLok transfer only) sidetracker Buy & Sell 10 07-12-2013 05:11 AM
iLok License Manager - LICENSE TRANSFER ERROR MESSAGE jzacks524 General Discussion 6 06-26-2013 05:43 PM
iLOK broken, transfer license to good iLok question Jay Terrien Windows 12 09-18-2012 05:12 PM
How do I transfer a ProTools license to a new computer? benpeters Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 4 05-27-2011 04:30 PM
iLok License Transfer Massacrrrre Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 03-15-2010 07:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com