Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #191  
Old 03-30-2015, 07:39 PM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

What will happen to hd users that let their software lapse? Answer this.

If we do let it go how do we get back on on later versions. There needs to be a reasoble way back on.

If they brick my hardware im done for good with this company. Promised. I have spent over 20k on avid hardware and would continue to spend money. But i will not be shafted.
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 03-30-2015, 09:06 PM
Quickdraw Quickdraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanonbass View Post
What will happen to hd users that let their software lapse? Answer this.

If we do let it go how do we get back on on later versions. There needs to be a reasoble way back on.

If they brick my hardware im done for good with this company. Promised. I have spent over 20k on avid hardware and would continue to spend money. But i will not be shafted.
I have the same question. I currently am on LE but would like to move to HD in the future (if Avid ever figures this mess out). What happens at the end of the year? If you pay for a year and then let the support plan go do you keep the upgrades up to that point or do you go back to what you started with?

Last edited by Quickdraw; 03-30-2015 at 11:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 03-30-2015, 09:13 PM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanonbass View Post
What will happen to hd users that let their software lapse? Answer this.

If we do let it go how do we get back on on later versions. There needs to be a reasoble way back on.

If they brick my hardware im done for good with this company. Promised. I have spent over 20k on avid hardware and would continue to spend money. But i will not be shafted.
It's been stated a few times by Avid. They have no policy on HD lapse as of yet.

They say we have until dec 31, 2015 to upgrade and they will have a policy in place on HD lapse in more than enough time.

My hope it they do like Media Composer and un-bundle the HD software from the hardware and offer an HD software subscription plan.
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 04-03-2015, 08:11 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,661
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickdraw View Post
If you pay for a year and then let the support plan go do you keep the upgrades up to that point or do you go back to what you started with?

You keep the updates, ie the last functioning version you were using with the plan, and you are stopped there
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 04-03-2015, 09:14 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 827
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

By now, pretty much all HD owners know there is no policy regarding upgrades.

I'm not an HD owner, but that strikes me as absolutely crazy. Nuts. Bonkers. How can you release a new version of your product, and not tell existing owners when or how or if they will be allowed to upgrade? Did the entire marketing and sales departments at Avid quit during the last three months? Meanwhile, the CEO got a 25% raise, and the CFO got 31.25%.

You can't make this stuff up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall2Wall View Post
It's been stated a few times by Avid. They have no policy on HD lapse as of yet.

They say we have until dec 31, 2015 to upgrade and they will have a policy in place on HD lapse in more than enough time.

My hope it they do like Media Composer and un-bundle the HD software from the hardware and offer an HD software subscription plan.
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 04-03-2015, 09:34 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post
By now, pretty much all HD owners know there is no policy regarding upgrades.

I'm not an HD owner, but that strikes me as absolutely crazy. Nuts. Bonkers. How can you release a new version of your product, and not tell existing owners when or how or if they will be allowed to upgrade? Did the entire marketing and sales departments at Avid quit during the last three months? Meanwhile, the CEO got a 25% raise, and the CFO got 31.25%.

You can't make this stuff up.
On April 10th it will be 6 months since the new licensing scheme was announced (Oct 10th 2014). Truly a company walking their own path.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 04-03-2015, 10:06 AM
adogg4629 adogg4629 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 44
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post
By now, pretty much all HD owners know there is no policy regarding upgrades.

I'm not an HD owner, but that strikes me as absolutely crazy. Nuts. Bonkers. How can you release a new version of your product, and not tell existing owners when or how or if they will be allowed to upgrade? Did the entire marketing and sales departments at Avid quit during the last three months? Meanwhile, the CEO got a 25% raise, and the CFO got 31.25%.

You can't make this stuff up.
I agree. I know they will have a policy in place by the end of the year, but I worry that it will come with very little time to make a decision. I am sure they know how bonkers this all is, but getting out of this mess will be a real test for Avid as a company.

I myself take issue with $599 as it stands now because Avid has not done enough to convince me of the value of subscribing to their plan. I am sure they will bundle some stuff in at one point (a full adobe subscription gets you all their software), but unless the bundles reflect our professional PT usage, there is no point. If I did music and had to work in PTHD, then I could see a PT/Sibelius/a few plugins as a reasonable offering for $599/year. For post, if they bundled in PTHD and Media composer along with a few post oriented plugins, I could see a value in that for $599. But PTHD alone won't cut it.

AD
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 04-03-2015, 10:13 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

I would be shocked if they ever bundled anything for HD folk at $599 ...
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 04-03-2015, 10:29 AM
adogg4629 adogg4629 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 44
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
I would be shocked if they ever bundled anything for HD folk at $599 ...
True, but if there is not a large enough buy in to the subscription plan they will have to do something.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 04-03-2015, 10:48 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by adogg4629 View Post
True, but if there is not a large enough buy in to the subscription plan they will have to do something.
I'm hoping it's the golden parachute thing and somebody else, NOT adobe, buys them...but who would want to have to straighten this mess out before they even get to square one for a legitimate release? I think Slate would be a good bet, but I'm sure they'd need an angel.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com