Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2015, 06:35 PM
island man island man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 34
Default Activation Problem

I just bought a license for PT11 upgrade from LE via Sweetwater

Trying to activate it on the Avid site - the system asks to update billing address before authorizing/activation. So I update my address. Then the system response is "this account cannot be used in AVID store. Contact Customer Support".

1. I did not buy the upgrade from AVID store. I bought it via Sweetwater.
2. I have previously activated LEtoPT11 upgrades in the last 4 months.

So, this is obviously a new step/process on the AVID site. It's a major inconvenience right now.

I have raised the issue with my Sweetwater Rep, curious what the reply will be.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2015, 06:21 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,794
Default Re: Activation Problem

Hi

This is a pretty common issue lately and you have these two options for now.

Either You should contact Avid Store support, linked from the bottom left of the pages on the Avid store.

Where it says:
Order Support
Contact Us

OR you can use anlther address as you won't get anything shipped anyway (digital download) so if you know an address that works just use that. Not illegal or anything, we did that several times and worked perfectly

Best Regards
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2015, 04:09 PM
island man island man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 34
Default Re: Activation Problem

Thanks for that bit of information. I will try it. Just a major hassle. It seems they are just wanting to push activities to their support department for no reason.

In the meantime, still no reply from my Sweetwater rep.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2015, 04:43 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,794
Default Re: Activation Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by island man View Post
Thanks for that bit of information. I will try it. Just a major hassle. It seems they are just wanting to push activities to their support department for no reason.

In the meantime, still no reply from my Sweetwater rep.
Yes I know and agree but I doubt sweetwater can do anything as its Avid store server issues and not a sweetwater issue.

Try a different addres and You'll be fine, another member did the same thing yesterday and it was fine.

Its not an important thing as you aren't gonna get anything shipped to you and you can change it back later on when those things gets fixed.

All The Best
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2015, 12:46 AM
island man island man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 34
Default Re: Activation Problem

No cigar. Anything I click on my account page loads a message that requires me to update my address, when I do, the result is always the same "Your account cannot be used in Avid store, Contact Customer Support." Wow.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2015, 10:00 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Activation Problem

Contact Avid Store:

http://avid.force.com/Support/cc_avi...econtactusform
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2015, 10:42 AM
QuacksMeUp QuacksMeUp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 16
Default No eligible upgrade products found

Confused on this new licensing arrangement. I've been using PT 10HD... which includes license for PT 10. I just purchased the upgrade subscription for PT 11 (non-HD)... but I'm told no eligible upgrade products exist in my iLok account. (I'm looking right at the PT 10 license).

Wrote support 3 business days ago (got ticket #) - but still no reply.

So, can I not upgrade my existing version? Do I need to buy a new, full copy of PT 11 and start there?

Or, is the problem that I must upgrade using HD (i.e. I can't downgrade to non-HD)?

FWIW: couldn't afford the expense of HD anymore, so got rid of the legacy hardware and went to Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt. That was 4 weeks ago and I still haven't been able to fire that baby up!

Karl
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2015, 06:03 PM
island man island man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 34
Default Re: Activation Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
Thanks for that link, previously very very difficult to find an online contact form. We'll see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2015, 08:00 PM
island man island man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 34
Default Re: Activation Problem

Still no resolution. Customer support only replied with the comment that they have elevated my issue to their IT department. Wow, it's been 6 weeks already. So frustrated right now.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-22-2015, 10:23 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Activation Problem

Yeah, getting AVID to respond and actually get anything done anymore is pretty much the standard now.

And they now want you to pay for this kind of service as well.

I bought an Eleven Rack that came with Vanilla and there was no activation card in the PT box.

I also bought the expansion pack for it and couldn't register it either.

It took 6 weeks to get an activation code and when I called support to get the expansion pack activated as it wouldn't, it took and hour and 3 transfers to get it done.
Plus they wanted to charge me a "support call" to help me activate it as well.

This looks like the new AVID now.

Is it too early to say the passengers on the Titanic were better off?

MehAVID
__________________
Ultimate 2018.7
MacPro 12 Core 3.46 - 10.13.6
128 Gigs RAM
EFI flashed 580 GPU
3 card PCI-e expansion chassis.
Avid Artist Control
Apollo 8 Quad, Satellite Quad, Octo Card
Cranesong Avocet Monitor System.
WireWorld ProAudio Cables
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Activation Problem BMXnotFIX Getting Started 5 04-15-2014 10:00 PM
Problem with my activation key ! Tri0tyx29 Pro Tools Express on Windows 2 01-24-2013 01:58 AM
activation code problem dj moreno 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-12-2012 06:59 PM
exp pack activation problem bascani Eleven Rack 2 08-29-2011 12:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com