Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2015, 12:16 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,046
Default I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

Am I missing something? The license page doesn't list an option for those of us who are CURRENT PT11HD owners (I purchased a full system in June 2013). What are my options if I don't plan on abandoning Pro Tools, BUT don't need PT12 functionality at this point? What if I wait a year to upgrade?

How will they treat people who let their agreement lapse for extended periods? Are we going to see a "WUPish" fiasco where they expected users to pay almost as much as their original purchase price just to renew a license (before WAVEs adjusted to a limit on WUP cost)?
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.4.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.1, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2015, 01:28 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

There is some discussion about this already.

As of now, here's how it works:

Those not on a support plan must get on one by the end of the year. The price is $599 for HD users, even those on 11.

If you don't get on a support plan, or get on one and let it lapse later, then your license will continue to work, but be stuck on that version (whatever it was when you lapsed).

After that, your license is not upgradeable at all. You then have 2 choices - get on a rental/subscription plan, or buy a new HD system that comes with a new perpetual license (and then you face all the same issues if you let that lapse).

Also note that if you upgrade to a support plan, you can not transfer your license to someone else, even if you sell it with the card it came with.

If this sounds evil, it is.

Hopefully they will change this, as they are finalizing policy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2015, 07:08 PM
khaudio khaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

This is just... wrong. Let me get this straight...

If your support subscription expires (or if, in any case, you refuse to pony up the extra 600 by the end of 2015), you must buy a NEW HD SYSTEM WITH HARDWARE just to get an HD software upgrade?! The fact that the currently known PT12 features are so minor makes it insulting.

To my knowledge, there is no way to buy a perpetual PTHD license standalone, correct?

So those of us who think HD11 is enough for now, and maybe want to wait until PT13, will be S.O.L.? Either DOWNGRADE by buying a NEW PT Native license and lose major features because we thought PT12 wasn't attractive enough, or buy completely new HDX hardware?

This is no way to treat customers, much less the loyal ones.
Including PT12, 3 out of the last 4 versions of Pro Tools have been "crossgrades" and have thus had extra costs for many users. Now we are moving onward to a "pay forever or lose HD features" model.

Please, correct me if I'm wrong about the way this works. It's maddening to think that current HD11 users will be left behind forever for refusing to pay full upgrade price yearly for future potential upgrades (and for what is presently a marginal upgrade- one that, I would argue, is targeted largely at bedroom music producers, and not HD users- useless for many like myself).

Of course, all of this madness will be null if Avid clarifies this conundrum and provides a path upward without the burden of new hardware; and, to be fair, the FAQ does say there will be more info soon.
__________________
Kyle Hughes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2015, 08:08 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
After that, your license is not upgradeable at all. You then have 2 choices - get on a rental/subscription plan, or buy a new HD system that comes with a new perpetual license (and then you face all the same issues if you let that lapse).
I sure wish someone from AVID would confirm or deny this. He's saying that after ONE year my $4000+ (completely up-to-date) PT HD system becomes UN-UPGRADEABLE and I would have to PURCHASE ANOTHER WHOLE SYSTEM TO GET THE LATEST PTs version? Or get treated like a NEW USER and start RENTING the latest version?

Seems inconceivable.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.4.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.1, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2015, 06:15 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

Bump for AVID response.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.4.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.1, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2015, 07:44 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

Tim, I got my information from the Protools licensing FAQ on the Avid website, found here:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...icensing-FAQ#3

I will quote the relevant parts:

Q. Will my Pro Tools perpetual license stop working at the end of the one-year upgrade and support plan period?
A. No, you can continue to use Pro Tools if you allow your upgrade and support plan to expire. However, if you want to continue receiving updates with new features, you will need to renew your plan before it expires or switch to a subscription. Pro Tools and Pro Tools | HD owners will have through the end of 2015 to get on an annual upgrade and support plan. If you don’t get on a plan, you will not be able to upgrade your software in the future.

Q: If I have a Pro Tools perpetual license and my upgrade and support plan expires, what are my options if I want to upgrade later on?
A: You will have two options to get access to the latest version of Pro Tools:
Subscribe to Pro Tools software on a monthly or annual basis
Purchase a new Pro Tools perpetual license (full product) that includes an annual upgrade and support plan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2015, 08:00 AM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,187
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Tim, I got my information from the Protools licensing FAQ on the Avid website, found here:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...icensing-FAQ#3

I will quote the relevant parts:

Q. Will my Pro Tools perpetual license stop working at the end of the one-year upgrade and support plan period?
A. No, you can continue to use Pro Tools if you allow your upgrade and support plan to expire. However, if you want to continue receiving updates with new features, you will need to renew your plan before it expires or switch to a subscription. Pro Tools and Pro Tools | HD owners will have through the end of 2015 to get on an annual upgrade and support plan. If you don’t get on a plan, you will not be able to upgrade your software in the future.

Q: If I have a Pro Tools perpetual license and my upgrade and support plan expires, what are my options if I want to upgrade later on?
A: You will have two options to get access to the latest version of Pro Tools:
Subscribe to Pro Tools software on a monthly or annual basis
Purchase a new Pro Tools perpetual license (full product) that includes an annual upgrade and support plan
Yes, this is evil...

I could add numerous other adjectives as well.
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 5.963
RME, Daking, ISA, Sytek, BLA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2015, 09:02 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

"Evil" is word I reserve of things like murder/genocide. Let's keep it civil (we're talking about software here).

I would love to know the difference in cost between the current "upgrade and support plan" ($599 right? same as someone upgrading from PT9/10-kinda sucks that we have to pay the same right?) and jumping back on a subscription plan after this year (being treated as a NEW subscription).
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.4.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.1, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2015, 09:19 AM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,187
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim R. View Post
"Evil" is word I reserve of things like murder/genocide. Let's keep it civil (we're talking about software here).
It has been civil and of course, the software is not wicked. I and many others are hoping this is simply nothing more than an unfortunate oversight in the details and an inadvertent omission by Avid. Of which I might add I have been a loyal supporter of and consumer of their products for the last decade.

No doubt there are degrees and it remains to be seen where Avid decides to finally land on this issue but for the record evil is defined as follows:

Evil

adjective

1. morally wrong or bad; immoral; wicked: evil deeds; an evil life.

2. harmful; injurious: evil laws.

3. characterized or accompanied by misfortune or suffering; unfortunate; disastrous: to be fallen on evil days.

4. due to actual or imputed bad conduct or character: an evil reputation
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 5.963
RME, Daking, ISA, Sytek, BLA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-21-2015, 02:58 AM
mudgel's Avatar
mudgel mudgel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Linton (Via Ballarat) Australia
Posts: 21
Default Re: I have PT11HD. Where do I stand (license wise)?

I pretty much new to PT forums but I did read with respect to PT HD that support and upgrade plans were not yet finalised but would be by the time PT12 came out. Am I wrong or does that give us some hope for a more equitable state of affairs?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what happens to my PT10hd license if i upgrade to PT11hd rustyjay macOS 2 01-22-2014 11:00 PM
Digi 002, wise buy? forevertwisted 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-10-2010 04:27 PM
Is there anything I can do repeating wise? TheLP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-14-2004 07:24 AM
OT:Is a 002 really different from a 001, use-wise? HMT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-07-2004 11:08 AM
Wise Words! Brad Cobb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-11-2003 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com